Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2014
This is a compact alternative to the BNF, covering only common/useful drugs. Each drug is listed with its generic and trade name,, what it is used for, contraindications, cautions, side effects, things to monitor, interactions and dosing. Antibiotics are in a separate chapter and divided up by condition (e.g. community-acquired pneumonia). There are also chapters on drugs for hypertension, asthma, analgesia, palliative care, antiemetics, alcohol withdrawal, antidepressants, as well as a whole chapter on medical emergencies.

PRO
- Size. This is small enough to carry around and remain unobtrusive
- Comprehensive. I found this to be more than sufficient for my general practise rotation, there were no drugs I couldn't find.
- Handy extras include algorithms for cardiac arrest, TIA and anaphylaxis, as well as a chapter on how to prescribe

Con:
- Obviously this is not as comprehensive as the BNF, and so with regards to specialist drugs it is lacking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
a bit useless. BNF forever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
found this book a real lifesaver for my first months as a junior doctor. small and light so easy to carry around at all times, and has helpful tips for almost everything!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I'm an F1 and its been essential to my first few months. The cheese and onion is too big to put in a pocket and I haven't been brave enough to go for the manbag. This has everything you need as well as the emergencies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
as a quick reference it is great, it makes looking up prescriptions and uses very easy. a must have for any practitioner
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Perfect for junior docs! I use this multiple times/day and find it quick and easy to navigate - sensible layout
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
As a Biomed student and as a first aider, this book is so useful in understanding the bewildering array of drugs and medications out there. I feel the price is a tad too high, but it has proven itself invaluable already
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
As say this book is good book and small and easy to carry ,so I can say is good deal
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.36

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)