Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 April 2014
I would suggest ONLY using the official UKFPO mock practice test. Read and re-read the correct answers and explanations. Analyse the patterns and write a flowchart for the common scenarios. You'll develop a consistent, correct approach this way.

If you absolutely must use a book, get this one. Best explained out of all the books I used.

Avoid the red 250 SJTs book - I did the mock SJT paper online (without looking at the answers in between) before and after using that book, and my score actually dropped by a few %.

SJT at a glance was alright, felt the questions were too difficult though.

Online question banks weren't great. Passmedicine was nothing like the actual test, and Pastest had dodgy answers.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
This was the only book I bought for the SJT besides using the practice paper and question banks online. I found this book to be alright and also easy to understand. I liked the way it mentioned themes for some of the questions in the solutions page and discussed the reasoning behind each response as to why it's ranked above another, and why certain answers are less appropriate.

Some of the questions were kind of strange and there were some inconsistencies in comparison to the solutions for other questions with a similar theme (e.g. the qts. related to capacity, religion etc), but the good things about the book were solid explanations and justifications for each answer, GMC referencing and quotes, easy to read and light enough to carry around in your white coat, and also consistent emphasis on the main theme e.g. confidentiality, patient safety, work-life balance, avoiding passing responsibility when not needed etc. and how one supersedes the other when two or more themes pop up in one question.

Besides a few inconsistencies, negatives include: the solutions are all shoved at the back, so flipping back and front was a bit of a pain. Having it divided into chapters in a more organised fashion would have been easier as it's all jumbled up together with questions in random order, regardless of theme or type.

Overall, it gives a good flavour of the SJT but is probably best used with the GMC guidelines on hand when correcting the questions as well as the online paper. I did pretty average in the SJT, and my classmate who didn't use any books did really well and got into Oxford, so I would say take all these SJT prep books with a pinch of salt. They are great to practice your timing as the test is pretty tight for time, but I feel that they fall short in terms of actual "study".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Having sat the SJT last week, I thought it would be useful to write reviews of some of the books I used, as there is so little information out there and everyone seems to waste a lot of money in the pre-SJT panic. I never normally write reviews but thought it might be helpful.

This book is, in my opinion, one of the best available, but to be honest none of them are great. For the most part the questions are sensible, have good explanations, and more importantly are perhaps the most similar in style and content to the actual exam. However, there are some that seem to give answers/explanations that are just plain wrong.

With any SJT book, use it as a way of getting used to the format of the exam and doing the questions quickly (time yourself with about 1.5 mins per question), but definitely take some of the answers they give with a pinch of salt and trust your own judgment!

If you are going to buy a book, I would recommend this one or the oxford handbook. I would advice against the big red 250 sit book- it's terrible!! The online On Examination is also very good.

Don't stress too much about it and don't bother preparing too much, on the day it feels very subjective and random. Just finish on time and accept that it's a bit of a silly exam!!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Having used a few different books studying for the SJT they all have their quirks. However, this one is the only one that has blatantly incorrect answers that are contradictory to GMC guidelines. An example is guidance on informing DVLA about patients with epilepsy - it is a doctors responsibility to inform the DVLA IF the patient has been sufficiently told they must and fail to do so. This book instead suggests getting into the back of a taxi driver's car who is a known epileptic and calling the patient's wife which breaks confidentiality. GMC guidance states doctors can inform no other parties than the DVLA - not even the patient's employer in the case of a taxi/lorry driver.

Don't waste your money being told incorrect guidance. The Oxford handbookSituational Judgement Test (Oxford Assess and Progress) is quite strong on not bothering seniors but gives a better guide and the 250 SJTs by ISCMedical250 SJTs (Situational Judgement Test questions) for Foundation Year entry (Foundation Programme - FY1) is better, again with some rather obscure questions. The strongest overall guidance comes from GMC good practice, the online mock and if you want a neat presentation of all these details - SJT at a glanceThe Situational Judgement Test at a Glance
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I've been using this book in the library so I bought my own to practise questions while on elective. I've heard good things about it & I like the explanation of questions so you get into the SJT way of thinking!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
4 out of 5 stars not because of the book quality but rather I wouldn't say it is necessary to do well in the SJT. In fact the more questions I did the more I got contradicting answers! But well written all the same!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
This is an exceptional and well written book which provide a good understanding and concepts behind all sorts of situations in the workplace(health).It is a must have book to deal with STJs head on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
wooly explanation for the answers and different answers to the other books and to the practice paper on ukfpo. some of the questions also seem to have been lifted from other books aswell. used this book and all other sjt & gpvts questionbooks and banks and only got ~35 points for sjt. in my opinion, the ukfpo sample questions were the most similar to the actual paper, in terms of style and ranking order.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
The explanations were lengthy and detailed: however there were a few answers which did not seem quite right.

It is useful for practice and getting used to the sjt style of thinking but I would not rely on the given answers too strongly and use a range of other resources to supplement it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I took the SJT in jan 2014, using both this book and the "250 SJTs". This book I found to be of little help, and poorly laid out. The questions were okay practice, but were not entirely like the questions which came up in the actual exam. Furthermore, some of the explanations within the book are contradictory from question to question, and if you read the whole book, you will probably end up more confused. For me the "250 SJTs" was much more useful, and gave excellent preparation for the actual exam.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)