Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2016
This book sounds rather entry level ,with some important aspects missing as eg subtext. Quit useful tips and lot of examples with analysis after each passage part. Hoped it was more deeper than expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Straight to the point and full of neat ideas that an experienced writer has found to work for him. The obvious is never so to the beginner, which is why such advice as this book contains, is so valuable for anyone starting out and trying to make a living by writing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Helped me make my dialogue more natural, and how dialogue can help with description and advance the story line at the same time. I thoroughly benefitted from reading it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
This is the first "Teach Yourself" book I bought from Book Depository recently after reading some reviews. Unfortunately, unless you have read only a few novels and never learnt grammar about direct/indirect speech, you will find very little benefit in reading this DIY book. The only benefit I had from this book was two pages on Chapter 7. Several other chapters like those about how to show dialogues in crowds and dialogues in foreign languages are just common sense that would not need teaching at all. The author also spent at least half of this book interpreting dialogues in some stories or novels, although I trust other readers' subjective interpretation can easily differ from his. Contrary to its title, there is nothing in the book to give clear guidance or step-by-step directions on how to write great dialogues. But if you read Truby's or Weiland's or Ackerman & Puglisi's books, for instance, you'll find clear directions and their books' content match the book titles. Because of this, I won't be able to trust other books in the "Teach Yourself" series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Try it if you have difficulties in this area. I found it illuminating and most certainly helpful. Wonderful value for money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Very useful book for novice writers, Some good tips and examples. Not a lot more I can say about it really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)