Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2011
Extremely helpful revision guide for anyone doing Edexcel Psychology AS. The way it is laid out in sections with the methodology the descriptions and the evaluations is fantastic giving you exactly the key words needed to get those precious marks in the exam! In the back there are example exam answers telling you bad and good answers so you can see what you should be aiming for. Overall, very well laid out and it was an essential revision aid to my revision last year!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
Quite a good book. It looks at the psychodynamic approach, biological approach and the learning approach. However, it does not cover every single study in detail. Instead, it covers the "compulsary" study in detail you have to do and one other (Edexcel gives you a choice of 3 study in details you can choose from for each approach) so, unfortunately, if you buy this book, don't think that it covers everything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Honestly, I don't recommend this book. 'Written by a senior examiner' it says on the back. For starters I'd expect from this, that the revision guide would clearly outline all studies that are used in the course. It doesn't. It acknowledges the existence of many studies but picks 2 that you may or may not have studied in class, and then outlines them. I found that descriptions were wordy, vague and generally very poor in many cases. Trying to understand inferential statistics using this book is impossible. I took one look at another revision guide in waterstones and got it straight away. I have given it 3 stars and this is being VERY generous. The Q&A is quite good, and there are some good diagrams that are helpful (classical conditioning for example).

In my opinion this revision guide should be a complement to another revision guide. It just lacks detail, broadness of the subject, and you'll constantly find yourself resorting to google because it either doesn't cover what you want or just provides you with word vomit.

Overall I'm disappointed, it's a bit of a bodge job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Easy to read, clear, conscise and to the point...it's pretty much my psychology bible and perfect for a revision tool (and in class) it's a little bit thin of supporting evidence studies...however studies in detail are well put as in not overloaded with detail that you possible couldn't write it all in an exam :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Very useful book, has a lot of good tips that are required in an exam, recommended to students studying psychology
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Bought this for my daughter for her AS revision and she has found it very helpful. Arrived quickly. Good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
A good book for my sons a levels, helping him a lot with his studies, would recommend, very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Very helpful, easy to understand and help me through some tough times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Provides useful information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Excellent resource
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here