Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2013
I strictly suggest this book to everyone interested in this topic. There are all most necessary concepts explained in clear and understandable language that is especially convenient fore guys who are out of time to get through the academic language puzzles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
A bit too basic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
Like some of the other reviewers I too am a market research consultant with many years experience - having worked in the industry for the duration of my career - and this book clearly wasnt written with me in mind. Its easy to be dismissive of anything which claims to deliver a lifetime's knowledge in just a week!
However, for certain audiences - students, those hoping to have a career in MR and those new to the business, I believe it would be an invaluable tool (e.g. as a reference resource for interviews). It could also prove interesting to first-time commissioners of research and those with perhaps more experience in related sectors e.g. marketing or advertising, who want to better understand the MR process.
The text is easy to read, the book is well-structured; its extremely informative and the illustrations really help to keep the reader engaged.
Whilst there is some mention of social media and panels, I didnt feel the quant research section accurately reflected what is now a very online-dominated space. Also, mention of online methods was quite limited in the qual section. It feels as though the book might have been written for MR as it was conducted some years ago. The digital revolution is having an immense impact on how - and why - and what types of market research are being undertaken nowadays and perhaps more consideration could have been given to this aspect.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
As a market researcher myself, I find that it would be very difficult to transfer all the knowledge that we have as experts to anyone who is interested in the subject. However, Judy makes a really good job at compiling, describing and explaining what market research is useful for and its process, from beginning to end. I would especially recommend this book to anyone who may be considering buying and commissioning a research project for the first time. Going through the book will assist them in making an informed decision and will provide them with valuable criteria to choose the right provider, the right methodology and to work hand in hand with the researcher in order to make the most of the project findings. The way the chapters are presented, distributing one amenable piece of info a day for a week, with a summary at the end of every chapter and a Fact-check page, where you can put your knowledge to the test finding the answers at the end of the book, makes of this book a quick read and a great introduction with all the basic information and vocabulary for both businesses and the general public.

I received this book free from the author Judy Bartkowiak. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Distilling "what the experts learn in a lifetime" into just over 100 pages (as the book cover claims) is not possible. While the book focuses mainly on primary research, I found the importance of desk/secondary research (exhaustive review of existing data/knowledge from multiple sources etc) had been downplayed, and was surprised that the role of the telephone in quantitative research was not mentioned. All that said, the book has plenty of excellent and valuable content and tips. What Judy has achieved is a clear and logical bite-sized summary of market research and how to commission it. The book is an excellent easy-to-read "starter for 10" for anybody wanting to learn the basics of market research, and well worth the £6.99 cover price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
I was given a free copy to review the trouble is I work in market research so for me it was too simplistic. However, its not targeted at me. I suppose the market is business studies students or gradulates applying for a market research job who have no knowledge of the subject matter but want to bluff their way through the interviews. It's a well written and structured book which provides enough sound bites to bluff your way through the subject for 30 minutes. Maybe if I'd read astrophysics in a week, I might have learnt something. I'm reminded of that skit of Blue Peter where they show you how to play the clarinet - 'blow here and move your fingers up and down the levers. And next week the saxaphone'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
This book concerns itself with primary research and has a readable, accessible style, largely jargon free, which makes it well suited as an introductory read for any student or novice marketing professional to familiarise themselves. It addresses both quantitative and qualitative research and overall it is a good mix of what to expect from research if you want to commission it and fair guidance if you want to execute it yourself. This is where some care is required, 'what the experts learn in a lifetime' is skill, depth of knowledge and expertise and this is well worth paying for; what is contained in the book is an outline of the process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
Easy to read run through of all areas of market research. Gives a good flavour of different approaches, both qualitative and quantitative. Split into bite size chunks, felt easy to read through and take in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
This is an in-depth detailed explanation of market research. Perfect for students and those new to market research as this book ensures the reader fully understands each discussed area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
You will learn what it all means, and how to interpret the jargon, but learning to carry out market research in a week is beyond the scope of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse