Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2013
This has to be the best, or perhaps one of, revision books on the French language. As an O-level standard + a short course in Paris many years ago, this is proving an excellent tool for me to seriously revise, learn anew and practise. I recommend it highly.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
A pleasant surprise to find a book so well laid out, with short chapters and plenty of exercises. The book allows you have a useful and comprehensive grasp of French. It's slightly old-fashioned approach is wonderful for revision, is non-threatening and it's use of recordings, translation etc is comprehensive. Provides a great base for the development of the language.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Very good book.
The CD makes it better than using a book on its own.
I was disappointed that a couple of chapters were omitted from the CD.
It was confusing having some of the written exercises covered on the CD but without any cross-reference [they could have just said Exercise D, question 4 and so on].
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
Excellent, thorough book which is easy to navigate and great for current students and those who have studied French before. I speak approximately A Level French and this has been a fantastic way to brush up.

The only problem I have encountered with the course is that my English education has been so poor (thank you, comprehensive school, for getting me an A in GCSE English without knowing what an adverb is) that I occasionally need to go away and check what is meant by 'abstract noun', 'conditional tense', etc. before it's possible to continue gainfully. If your knowledge of grammar terminology is equally lacking you may also struggle since it is, as it says, a grammar-based course.

The contents aside, a real flaw with the book is the quality of the binding and paper. The content is excellent but the paper is of very poor quality (think those cheap Penguin Classics of which you can buy 3 for £5). The binding itself does not stand up to much page-turning and you would expect that a book like this is created so that the user can return to chapters of particular interest. Far from being able to refer time and time again, I have only had the book for a few months and mine is already beginning to fall apart. It's a great shame that a book as useful as this is not made to the quality of a standard textbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
A lot of content to absorb and quite difficult Each chapter covers the essential parts of grammar with a reading passage and a set of questions for the student to complete. The book also contains a CD..On the whole a comprehensive book for the serious adult student.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
A very good book and good quality CD. The book and CD are easy to use. It is helping me to learn French in an enjoyable way.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I love it! Since I had done no French since my O levels it was a good revision book and also one that you can dib in and out of !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I have used this book in various editions for 20 years to teach children and adults the rudiments of French grammar.
The short 'stories' and exercises are cleverly constructed and somehow manage to impart information without students realizing how much they are learning whilst having fun! Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
I don’t know how useful this book is likely to be for someone who has never learnt any French at all before, but for anyone who has only a very basic knowledge of French, or who has let their French get rusty, I cannot recommend it too highly. The grammar is very clearly and skilfully explained; the vocabulary and idioms introduced are both wide-ranging and useful; and the grammar and translation exercises are all meaningful and valuable. The reading passages in each chapter are not only good models of French prose; most of them are also extremely entertaining stories, which is an added bonus: facility in reading a foreign language is more quickly developed, and its grammar, vocabulary and idioms are more easily retained, when what you’re reading holds your interest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2016
This book is definitely a best seller. Excellent for grammar, conversation and testing yourself. I think I remembered using it at school a very long time ago. Now with the CD it is even better. I would recommend this book to anyone learning French as it is set out very easily for the beginner to the Intermediate learner. I absolutely love this book and have been using it since it arrived. A great purchase and it does what it says on the front cover. Best Seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)