Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2016
Very good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Prefect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
I was recommended this by my history teacher as I found our textbooks difficult to use and the format was confusing. This was clearly set out, easy to revise from and contained all the important information and most importantly example answers which I found the most useful. I only used this book in the week before the exam and achieved an A moving from a D in mocks. The best £6.50 spent and a must have for anybody doing 20th century history!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
This book is very well organised, full of revision hints and focussed on exam requirements. It's also packed with interesting facts and arresting - often touching - excerpts from primary sources. The author's teaching experience really come through: she knows how to get across the infomation needed in as gripping a way as possible. It'll be invaluable for anyone taking AS, and a good read for everyone else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Really helpful: examples at the end of each chapter of perfect (or near perfect) part a and b questions (should know what I'm talking about if your taking this exam!)allowed me to go into the exam knowing how to write and like I said was an invaluable aid. Although it was incredibly helpful in training and challenging my exam technique, it does lack the detail you need to get the highest grades (A/A*) but the detail you need to get these grades will be in your text book or you should be doing background reading and this revision guide gives you enough to get a pass. In conclusion; this is the only really helpful revision guide if you want to improve your exam technique but if your confident in your technique this revision guide does not go into anymore detail than your text book does, though still provides a useful summary.

live fast die old: PEACE :D

(written by this user's son)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
This is book is really helpful, interesting and easy to follow. It has a lot of exam-focussed hints and tips and has total relevance to current History courses. Information is well-organised, and the teacher/examiner who wrote this obviously has the experience and insight into the course and exams to prepare any student for AS. It really is quite an interesting read and inspires confidence once read and understood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
I have bought this book and the one on British warfare. I find them both incredibly helpful and easy to use. They give you the basic facts you need to know and nothing more (which I believe is good, as you don't have to worry about all the little details you might not know). The book is also written by the exam board, so they therefore put in everything you need to know. Very good, I recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This book was amazing at helping me cram for my as retake, its small activities where helpful and the information was set out in a really informative and simple way. It would have helped if the book contained more on how to critisize sources as that is the point of the questions for part b but overall great for revision
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
If you want to pass your exams, get this book!
Whilst you are best not reading the writing techniques section as each teacher has different ways of teaching you to answer the question in order to gain full marks, this book it perfect for learning all the facts you need to know to pass your exam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
I found this really good for last minute revision and double checking basic facts but it lacks details and doesn't really show many dates - good book but I'd have another for studying definitely - probably hodder education. Overall good to have in the background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here