Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a superb resource for anyone who is looking at starting or revising this area of medicine. It would also be useful for anyone with an interest in microbiology or infectious diseases, even students of biology, human biology or epidemiology would find this book and the accompanying app helpful.

The text isn't overly complex, and has a section at the beginning explaining how to use the book, and one on the abbreviations used.

It is broken down into 2 main areas: microbiology and infectious diseases. There is also a section for "self assessment".

.
Micro Biology

~ bacteria
~ virus
~ fungi
~ protozoa
~ helminths
~ antibiotics

.
Infectious diseases

~ respiratory infections
~ gastrointestinal infections
~ cardiovascular infections
~ haematology infections and HIV
~ genitourinary infections
~ nervous system infections
~ skin infections
~ bone and joint infections
~ congenital, neonatal and childhood infections
~ history taking, septic screen and monitoring

For every infectious illness mentioned (and it is not a fully comprehensive book, but covers all the more prevalent infectious diseases) there is a description of symptoms along with possible causes.

.
Each of these sections also contains some, if not all, of these mini boxes:

*"Micro Case" - case studies and bullet point summaries
* "Micro Facts" - summarisation of the essential facts
* "Micro Print" - extra information that may not be essential to all
* "Micro Reference" - panels for further research and guidelines

.
At the end of the book is a section for "Self Assessment". Each question has the correct answer included in the book.

The book is full colour showing drawings of cells and photographs of stained slide sections.

The book comes with a special code for the app download. Please note that this code can only be used once, so pick your device carefully.

The app allows access to even more detailed information, along with "on the move" information and suggestions for further research.

This is a superb reference text book. If you are thinking of a carer in the medical, medico-research and/or medio-technical areas then I can recommend it and its associated app for your consideration.

Even if your studies are only limited to the cell based areas then you may find the "micro biology" sections well worth a look.

I look forward to other texts in this range.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The MOTM guides are not intended as comprehensive guides but as an overview of a particular subject area. They're designed to be concise, punchy in the way they deliver information and easy to read, with the information presented in an accessible way.

The guide to microbiology and infectious diseases is typical of the MOTM guides. It's particularly relevant these days when there is a great deal of focus on how and why iatrogenic or hospital acquired infection rates are on the increase.

The layout is colourful, easy to follow and more importantly relevant and easy to understand. Unlike some of the books on the market today this is written for a British market and not full of American terminology. The book is aimed primarily at pre registration medics but would also find great use as a resource for nurses, paramedics or other health professionals.

I haven't used the mobile app but as I understand it the app allows access to the book in online form as well as other resources.

Another useful addition to the MOTM series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is one of the best handbooks I have seen recently.

Presentation by both class of microorganism and presentation makes it easy to locate the offending pathogen whether you are a budding microbiologist or a pre registration doctor/resident. The summaries are concise and easy to follow. So much so that I would suggest if you are sitting for any type of exam, you use the relevant entries as an aide memoir. The usual individual microorganism entry is presented as follows:

Location, transmission, diseases, diagnosis, antimicrobial.

The diagrams are relevant and informative. There are multiple colour plates. I enjoyed using this reference immensely! This is set in UK terms with a current UK immunisation schedule and generic names being used for medication. There is even a bibliography of references linking to the Cochrane database of systemic reviews or standard protocols/definitive journal articles.

I am not going to give a review for the Skyscape app but I know my reaction was similar to that of the Google Play store reviews when asked to give permissions for personal contact and calendar information. Just plain wrong. The app itself is free with certain basic modules. This book gives a code for a premium/paid module based on this book.

However I can see this app being very useful on the phone/ tablet instead of carrying various handbooks around. Perhaps installing it on a separate device unconnected to your account, ie linked to a new account.

This should in no way detract from a first class reference!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A brilliantly accessable format, with a helpful layout and interesting appearance. Fantastic for early clinical years.
Good use of colour and images.
Laid out as you would organise your own medical notes, so that it makes sense and feels immediately comfortable.
Covers common issues and more important ones giving more than just basic answers.
Above all this informative book is very easy to read and will be a good basic reference.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really wish I had this book back when I was at college nearly 10 years ago. One of the largest modules was "Microbiology" and I really struggled to create my own learning aids for quick reference on specific micro-organisms. While this book is much more medical in it's nature, I would still have killed for something this easy to reference.
Simple bullet-point information makes this so much easier than anything else I've seen. And of course the app access version makes this perfect were ever you are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am currently reading for Masters degree at UCL in Clinical & Experimental Medicine. This book was a very welcome addition to my growing library. I wish I had this book during my undergraduate degree, which contained a module on microbiology. The easy to digest and concise material would be very much appreciated as a revision aid for examinations. I particularly found the list of abbreviations at the beginning of the book to be useful.

The actual book itself is fairly small and can easily fit into a students (or Jr. medics) bag. Without going into too much detail, the book covers the majority of microbiology tests. The book is divided into 3 rather large chapters; Microbiology, infectious diseases and self assessment.

PART 1- MICROBIOLOGY This section covers bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, helminths and antibiotics. Each chapter begins with a brief over view of the pathogen in question, before moving onto the infections they cause, laboratory identification and diagnostic tests. This is all supplemented with excellent microscopic images as well as charts and plenty of diagrams for easy learning.

PART 2- INFECTIOUS DISEASES This chapter covers a wide range of infections that cause specific infections in different bodily systems; respiratory , gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, haematological, genitourinary, nervous system, bone and joint, skin and childhood infections.

PART 3- SELF ASSESSMENT The final chapter puts learning into practice, covering various case studies and multiple-choice questions.

The item lost a star due to the below average online eBook. To view the eBook (I tested this for the iPad), one is 'required' to download the SkyScape App and the eBook is installed there. It would have been nice if this could have been downloaded to iBooks, instead. The content is present in the App, albeit in a condensed format. However, I have experienced the App shutting down, for no apparent reason, on a number of occasions. If it worked, I am sure it would have been a handy addition for Jr. Doctors to check their iPhone (the App also works on iPhoned) when they are uncertain about a diagnosis.

All-in-all, I am very pleases with this microbiology book. It is fairly reasonable enough for someone with a non-scientific background to grasp, but I would recommend a basic background in microbiology to really understand everything. This is a very up-to-date book in a condensed and easy to digest format. The book 5/5; highly recommended. The App 2/5.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
"Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move" is a book aimed at medical students, junior doctors, microbiologists or those who have an interest in the field infectious diseases. It's also a great revision tool.

While being almost pocket sized it contains a wealth of information on a massive range of bacteria, virus and fungi. Including community acquired and waterborne diseases.

It's structured in such a way thats is easy to follow and easy to navigate, either cover to cover to to look something up. It doesn't over pad subjects and uses lots of summaries and bullet points.

A few minor points, I would have liked more information on antibiotics such as side-effects, combination of the drugs and resistance. Also I'm a visual learner and while there are some good photos (all colour), it would have been good to have seen more. Finally there is very little on tropical diseases.

However it's great value for money considering what it offers and should be on your short list.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Microbiology and infectious diseases is aimed at medical students/ junior Drs. It's a very concise summary of microbiology and would not be so useful for anyone without a general over and understanding of the field. There are numerous flow charts, photos and diagrams, and mnemonics even the odd line of history!

The book is divided:

PART I MICROBIOLOGY
1 Bacteria
2 Viruses
3 Fungi
4 Protozoa
5 Helminths
6 Antibiotics

PART II INFECTIOUS DISEASES
7 Respiratory infections
8 Gastrointestinal infections
9 Cardiovascular infections
10 Haematological infections and human immunodeficiency virus
11 Genitourinary infections
12 Nervous system infections
13 Skin infections
14 Bone and joint infections
15 Congenital, neonatal and childhood infections
16 History taking, septic screen and monitoring tests
17 Notifiable diseases

PART III SELF ASSESSMENT
18 Microbiology
19 Infectious diseases

For example in the microbiology section for a specific bacteria information will be given such as: shape, morphology, stain, culture techniques, O2 requirements, location (skin, GI etc), transmission diseases, anti microbial agent/drugs. The book is written primary by UK based physicians/students and reflects local practice including ref to NICE guidelines. However prescribing antibiotics should be done with consideration to local formularies.
The section for infectious diseases has a different focus: key disease features, causative agents, clinical features, complications, diagnosis and treatment.

The self assessment section has 50 very brief clinical cases.

E version.
The book has a code to allow access to a single copy of an e version. The instructions given in the cover are brief. The provider is skyscape and an account has to be set up with them and then an app downloaded on to the mobile device. (ipod/phone/pad or Android//Blackberry currently) Once you have found the right part of the web site guidelines are available to assist with the download. (Whilst this was not difficult some steps were not obvious) There are some free resources available with the apps but most of these have a US bias.
On first opening the ipad version looks nothing like the paper book. An alphabetical index is presented. Table of contents should be selected to mirror the paper version. The pictures are not part of the text. So to see flow diagrams the flow chart index has to be selected and to see diagrams and pictures the image index selected. The ebook is searchable, and selecting an item in the main index in many cases gives a choice of places where the item is cited. However the indexing may not return every citation. Selecting amoxicillin gives 3 places where it is cited, a brief review of the paper version demonstrate many more citings. Hence one cannot select amoxicillin and get a list of sensitive bacteria or every condition in the book where it might be used. It is possible to add book marks which can be used to help overcome navigation challenges.

Overall recommended for the target market
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
As a third year medical student, currently trying to come to grips with clinical microbiology, this book was a God-send. Not only does it cover the relevant clinical material, but it also takes you back to basics, back to the beginning so you can refresh everything you've forgotten enabling you to understand the later clinical sections much more!

First of all, the layout is superb and set out in a way that is really easy to follow. It is divided into Bacteria, Viruses, Fungi, Protozoa, Helminths and Antibiotics in the first section, before delving into the clinical sections e.g. respiratory infections and so on. There are also numerous flow-charts, diagrams and pictures which speak a thousand words and completely re-enforce the text. These enable you to quickly come to grips with the text rather than spending too long reading through text - fantastic if you're like me and don't enjoy reading encyclopaedias too much.

Secondly, the content is very succinct, and to the point making it easy to memorise exactly what you need to know rather than having to trawl through the masses of text-books again and again. Fact boxes also highlight the key facts from the text, making sure you really do remember what you have just read and you never miss a key point. It is also of perfect size and literally is a book I will take with me on the move. And as if all this wasn't enough, there are even self-assessment questions and answers at the end to re-enforce what you've just read.

This is a great book and one I will definitely take with me through my next few years of medical school and well into my further training as a doctor. I greatly recommend it to anyone who requires a revision aid to microbiology and lifelong support with infectious diseases!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This book is a handy book for any medical student to use if they want to better get to grips with microbiology from the perspective of what a medical student needs to know.

The section on basic microbiology is a useful edition though the detail within this section is beyond what you would be required to know for any medical student examinations. However such detail is a useful read so that the student can better understand the second section which is an essential read most certainly before finals giving you all the major points you need to know about infections & their management across the body systems which without the first section would be harder to conceptualize.

Perhaps the most useful aspect of the first section is the mnemonic for learning the gram positive bacteria - 'sexy students can look bad come the morning' - I won't say what the bacteria are as others have given it below but if you use this then any question asking you to work out type of infection should be a lot easier.

The final section is a useful addition allowing you to test your knowledge gleaned from the rest of the book & the mobile access makes browsing the book a lot more convenient as you can restructure it by organism etc.

On the whole I would encourage a medical student who wishes to better prepare themselves for this component of the course in examinations to strongly consider this title as in my opinion it is easy to read & gives you the essential facts.

Competing Interests: Student Rep - received gratis copy of this title
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)