Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2013
What a gem! Planning my first trip to Italy in the summer next year, wanted a guide to keep me enthused and excited about learning the language in the meantime. That is exactly what it is doing, has kept me stimulated, challenging whilst fun, formatted interestingly for either the beginner or the advanced. Looking to make the most out of my vacation and talk to as many people as possible, I am starting to feel prepared! Rarely write reviews on amazon, but really wanted to with this one, recommended!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I downloaded this on to my Kindle and took it on holiday with me to Calabria just recently.

The helpful hints about correct usage of vocabulary really came in useful and I enjoyed the format of the chapters.

Just wondering how you can get the "Free Audio CD" download please?
44 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
Learning a new language is both tremendously exciting and extremely difficult. We often seek clear and certain rules from which we can generalise. However, while there are many such rules, our natural tendency to generalise can wreak havoc upon our ability to understand some of the many subtle nuances that any native speaker understands intuitively. Unfortunately, that intuitive knowledge is often difficult to articulate, harder still to teach, and ensures that any mistakes are immediately apparent to the ear of any native speaker. Thankfully, this author is alert and sensitive to that difficulty, and presents this exceptionally useful little book with great wit and style.

Although primarily marketed at those with a good working knowledge of Italian, the true genius of this book is that it is also an indispensible companion for anyone just starting to learn the language. The reason being it highlights common pitfalls, explains why they occur, and shows how to overcome them. If only there were such an exquisite little guide to help us overcome the common pitfalls of all of life's endeavours!

My sincere compliments to the author, and to any potential buyer, I commend this book to you whole-heartedly!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Quite useful but unable to access the "free audio download" so feel shortchanged about that. I like to listen as well as read. This need to be sorted - it shouldn't advertise something it doesn't actually provide.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Picked up some handy tips that otherwise may have taken me years to realise or have anyone point out the error, so although most of the material was stuff I'd already covered, it was still worth it in this respect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Excellent, straight forward and memorable. Ideal for anyone with basic knowledge and a love of Italy. Can dip into it anytime and get lost in the fascination of such a beautiful language.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Very good. Excellent bite size sections easy to use and you really feel as though you are making some progress with the language. Would recommend this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
This is a very good book for students of Italian who are already at an intermediate level. It's highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
This is a condensed grammar guide focusing on common problems and the correction of ingrained errors in vocabulary, structure and pronunciation. It is primarily targeted at students with some knowledge of Italian, but is ideal for Beginners ( particularly those who do not have a sound grasp of English grammatical terms and rules) and perfect for those more advanced who wish to refresh and consolidate their language skills.
The book is well structured and written in a clear, concise style with appropriate explanation and examples. The supplementary 'Insight' notes expand and clarify correct grammar usage as well as providing more familiar language practice.
The illustrations are delightful!
I sincerely recommend Valeria Malandra's book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
It has been a pleasure to read this book and it will surely rekindle an enthusiasm for studying the Italian language, which may well have flagged after a steady diet of standard grammar and course books. It really is a gem of a book, a study aid that very few students of the langusge can afford to be without. Most of us, with the aid of a good dictionary, a few decent grammar books and a teacher to guide us, will in due course be able to write reasonably grammatically, read Italian text and make ourselves understood. But we will inevitably continue to make relatively simple mistakes of grammar, pronunciation, word order and colloquial usage. It is not easy to sound or write like a native Italian, but this book will really help and the accompanying download will set students on the right path as regards stress and pronunciation. The structure and layout are admirable and the little "Insight" sections in each chapter help to fix the correct usage in our minds. But please do follow Valeria's injunction to revisit the book several times. There is nothing like repetition and familiarity to inculcate correct, colloquial usage almost as second nature. Go to it!

John Jenkins
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)