Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 15 August 2013
My italian (A-level initio) teacher actually recommended this book as she uses it with all her italian students (well, english students, learning italian) and I've found the book very helpful, especially with understanding how italian sentences are put together with the many examples.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2011
full of useful info & phrases which are subdivided into topics, which are many and varied. a basic knowledge of Italian is I think a pre-requisite and I feel the addition of an index would make this book more user friendly.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2010
I bought this book for my daughter who is doing GCSE Italian and although some of the phrases and words are too advanced for her, it's proving to be a really useful book to help expand her vocabulary. And it's helped with mine too! Definitely recommend for dipping into around all sorts of subject areas.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2017
Very good for improving your conversational italian
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2013
Very useful when writing essays or while trying to use Italian more idiomatically! Definitely recommened it to any university students.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2014
verygood and very informative would recomend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2015
will be useful next term
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2012
This phrasebook is just what I was looking for.
The layout of the book means that if you are learning the language and eg have to talk to your group, you are well provided for. The section 'Come dire' will give you most of the phrases you could possibly need for a discussion or a presentation, and the odds are on that another of the chapters amongst which are recycling, global warming, employment, sport will cover the subject matter you need to speak about.
It is really handy that the phrases are listed by subject - eg Gioventu' which is then subdivided into groups of friends, behaviour,love, fashion etc. Another chapter entitled 'Cibi, dieta, salute' is divided into 'in the kitchen' - dinner, meals, kitchen appliances, diet, fitness, health etc and at the back even sayings & proverbs, and Italian sms
It's a good solid book, and a handy size (just a little bit bigger than a regular paperback novel) which will stand me in good stead for some time.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2012
This book is really cool, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone doing Italian. Granted, you would have to have some prior knowledge of Italian for it to be useful, however I can barely speak it at the moment and I really like it. It does have some quite random phrases in it, such as 'the victim had a close shave' and 'since it is November the flowers are mostly chrysanthemums so you never bring chrysanthemums when you go visiting friends' and things like that, but I think that it makes the book more interesting! It does include a lot of useful topics that are covered in GCSE and A level Italian, including family, school, social problems, sport, technology, the environment, politics and culture. I also really like the section including sayings and exclamations, such as 'slow and steady wins the race', 'good heavens!' and 'no way!'.
Overall, a great book and a great buy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
OK This book what it says it is so no problems there However it is not quite what I expected due more lack of my research than anything else. It is fine however for quick reference, inspiration and probably easier to use than a synonyms dictionary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse