Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2017
So cool, plenty of drawings, diagrams and clear explanations.
If you have a passion for Weather, or just wanna discover how everything works, go for it!
LOVELY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
A very, very simple description of a very complex subject. It is one of those times when you know the person describing the subjects knows it so well they make it seem easy. It is so understandable. I had no prior knowledge at all but by the end of it, I could understand the weather programme on television. I would recommend this book, even for quite young people who are interested in this sort of thing. The diagrams are easy to see most of the time even on Kindle because they are basic line drawings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
Compact book, succinct and well written with useful pictures. I bought this to give me a light grounding before embarking on a short Open Univ course on weather and it gave the feel for the subject and introduced me to useful terminology
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
Am doing an Open University degree and on looking at the list of courses wanted to do nearly all of them including one about the weather. To save time and money researched books on the subject and was recommended this one. It is simple to follow and gives loads of information for those just wanting to learn the basics. Highly recommend.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Brilliant. The BEST guide for someone with no knowledge of weather systems who wants to become an armchair meteorologist. It starts with global patterns (the jet stream, el nino etc) then goes into more local effects. Complicated meteorology is very clearly explained.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Very clear and progressive explanations with excellent diagrams concentrates on principles which are logically extended and developed to build understanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
This is a brilliant book if you are interested in the Science of the weather. Costing just under £10. this is a real bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
A very interesting book I really liked the way it sheds light on the so-called global warming debate, as it talks about the Urban Heat Island Effect and how temperatures in built up ares can be 5 degrees or more warmer than the countryside. Interesting stuff, especially when the temp. monitor stations are largely clustered in urban areas, or areas of high population density. Food for thought!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Despite being second hand the book was in a very reasonable condition. Not read much of it yet, but so far, quite interesting, and looks like being just what I was looking for. Strangely the cover does not say who is the author - our famous former weatherman Michael Fish!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
An interesting well written book but it's a complicated subject and one needs to digest it slowly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)