Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2013
Lent books are often rather forced. This one has been worth re-reading later in the spring. Quash is a philosopher who has sensitivity and style, and who knows where wisdom is to be found.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
We are all familiar with the expression; `to settle down` in connection with a committed human relationship. In this oh so readable book; Ben Quash suggests that we should `settle down` with God - dwell with God - abide in God. He roots Christian spirituality in relationship, introduced and illustrated by delightful characters, traditions, church history, personal anecdotes, scripture and theology, that makes it delightful, profound, inspiring, exciting, convincing; and with that comfortableness that comes from a feeling of `rightness`.

A truly wonderful read; it should be in the `Adventure` section!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Easy to see why this was the last Archbishop of Canterbury's chosen Lent book for this year. Practical and at the same time 'not of this world' as title suggests.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I bought this on the recommendation of the Archbishop - not personally, you understand! It is well written with the assumption that the reader can understand complex language and concepts. In my case, not always a safe assumption to make - but it's nice not to be talked down to. He makes some interesting connections with modern culture and labours to be 'relevant' - awful word. Perhaps the theme of 'abiding' becomes a little laboured itself at time, but it was a good, thought-provoking read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
A great book, full of meaningful insights. An excellent understanding of what it means to live a Christian life in the 21st century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Started out well, but very cerebral and abstract for an ancient grandmother. Recommendation by Archbishop Rowan should have told me it would not be easy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This is a very thought provoking book for Christians to follow in a discussion group - not for reading without discussion. It provokes one to thought and action in your journey of faith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Some parts of the book touched me profoundly, but I felt a little contrived in some respects where practically every subject was drawn it. It gave it a rather patch work quilt effect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
This is a book to which one will return after this Lent. A brilliant combination of art and faith - thanks to the author and Rowan Williams!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I ordered this book in eager anticipation having used previous 'Archbishop of Canterbury's studies for Lent'. However, I have found this one very disappointing - it is far too cerebral and theoretical - at times becoming almost incomprehensible - and at times becoming too a superficial review of literature. It is not grounded in everyday life and experiences. I have not found it therefore to be a helpful guide or companion to the Lenten disciplines of reflection and re-evaluation. Previous studies issued for Lent are much better.
Not reccommended
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)