Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
Came early & I found it was really well written & informative .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Haven't started it yet but I feel sure it 'll be of much value when I return to it. P/P fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
You often hear people say I couldn't put a novel down, I'd say the same about this book. Its exceptionally well written and you can literally open any page and read something interesting and useful. Its inspired me to try and sharpen all my old tools which haven't been well cared for over the years. I started on a couple of chisels and in minutes they are much improved, no more throwaway tools for me.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
I've read a number of books about sharpening and this rates as the best by far. Ron Hock writes with humour about a subject which could be rather dull to those with only a fringe interest in sharpening. His approach is open-minded, logical and informative giving explanations of the metallurgy of blades, how they cut, how to sharpen them and equipment to use. I understood more about metallurgy from this book than any university lectures I attended, such was the quality of his writing. I recommend purchase of this out-of-print book before stocks disappear.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
Everything I needed to know about sharpening tools and a lot more besides. If I can't manage to keep my tools sharp after reading this, it's not the fault of the author!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
This book has been very useful. Covering all aspects of obtaining a sharp edge on all tools. Now it is possible to use tools as they were designed to be used. A very worthwhile book for the workshop. It will be frequently used.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
No need to ponder, it's the best available on the subject, it's the best investment you'll make as a woodworker, tool user, tool maker, cook, etc...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
This is a very good book and describes most sharpening techniques except for woodcarving chisels where it recommends another book by Chris Pye.
I wish I had known this before prchase.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
This book covers everything I am likely to need with regard to sharpening my tools and knives. It is a very well produced book with excellent photographs to support the text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
never knew sharpening an edge was such a science! this book covers it all in great depth, huge resource of information and photos, great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)