Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2011
This is a great little book. Anyone who reads The Art of Manliness blog will be used to Brett and Kate's writing style. This book is unusual in that it pulls together lots of old and contemporary writings under headings of seven virtues, which have been selected as "manly virtues". They are somewhat similar, but not the same, as Benjamin Franklin's virtues. The texts that are cited make for really good reading, and fit nicely in with each topic. Even though I have read some of them before, it was great to have them put into context, all in one place, etc.

I thoroughly recommend any man wanting to live a virtuous life pick up a copy and read it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
Well written, and very inspiring. There is a recurrent theme in being a man, and this book just drives it home. It does help with keeping your head up when under duress and stressful times. Good to see that some things do not change through the ages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
This is a book for men, women, boys and girls. The McKays have condensed over 2000 years of philosophy, literature, ideas and poetry into one nifty book that describe 7 different virtues. This book is for everyone that is wanting to change their life for the better, and do it in a manly (or womanly) way. However this isn't a book of how to do dress properly, or what sort of wine you need to bring to impress your mother in law. It's a book that describes the virtues that make a manly persona. An enjoyable, interesting and mind expanding experience.

If you look at a person in your life that is manly and impresses you with his manliness, you will most probably understand how he impresses you after you have read this book, because some of things that that person does unconsciously are virtues he has masters, and not just one, but seven of them. Read this and you will become aware as well as inspired in how to become a more manly man.

I've given the book 5 stars, because it was entertaining and inspiring. You don't need to know who either McKay is, or read their blog to read this book. The virtues make sense and each virtue is described with various texts and poems to chisel out what each virtue is. Use this knowledge and expand your mind and who you are.

On a side note, when I read this book, I had just moved out on my own and was generally kinda adolescent still. I consider this book to be an integrated part of my journey to growing up, and though I haven't mastered the virtues, I spend each day working on them. In the 21st century a lot of young men will have a hard time finding their identity and understanding what make great men, great. Give them this book and let them use it to find their own path.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
As a regular reader of the AoM website, I'm surprised that it took me this long to buy the book. An indispensable guide on how to be an honest, upright, "proper" individual.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
This book is jam pack full of phenomenal and engaging citations. If you really dig western history/philosophy you will dribble all over the pages. Brett & his wife did a splendid job and I have enjoyed everything this book has to offer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
This really is a fantastic book! I am amazed at the work the authors have put in to collate this mountain of amazing wisdom from the ages into one, single, great looking resource.

This is the kind of book you can pick up again and again when you need to ignite some motivation, guide a decision or just to simply just to learn from some of histories greatest men; This book is like having your own council of great men from history to call upon whenever you wish!

Definitely a book I am proud to own, and makes a great gift as well, truly something you will want to share with the great men in your life too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
Great book, bought it for my brother but i read it myself, we both enjoy it. While i would like it if there was introductions to each of the manvotionals, there are introductions at the beginning of each chapter and before some of the manvotionals to provide context, such as before the one about the charge of the light brigade.
Overall it does exactly what it aspired to, motivate people to be better men!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Great book, if you're a man, GET IT! If you're a boy GET IT! Simple! Makes you realise how great your life can be if you realise the core of what a man should be and this book taps you into that mindset and values required.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
...

Buy it.

"Oh but im not sure what it's about"
- I dont care. Im telling you to buy it.

"But I dont have £9 to spend on a book"
- Yes you do. And you are going to.

"It's not really my thing"
- Yes it is. Buy it.

"Im not a book person"
- Yes you are.

"But"
- Buy the book. Now.

You have no excuses. You have no options. You have no choice. Just buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
The book was delivered on time and in good manner. I've only skimmed it so far but what I've read makes for a good read. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)