Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2013
What more needs to be said? It's an excelent read. It does tend to bog down in places with too much description and background, as is normal for David Weber, but it still leaves you wanting more. The ending, not giving much away, does leave you hanging, wanting to just turn the page and continue with the story line. Recomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
I suspect that if this had been the first volume of this series I had read I would stop there - I have spent a lot longer between these books recently. But as I've already read at least ten before I will doubtless hang on till the end. It isn't as if it were badly written, after all, just going on a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
I really enjoyed this latest offering in the Honorverse saga, less politics and more action. I felt that David Weber had returned to the themes that attracted me to the whole series in the first place. I look forward to the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Another wild ride amongst the increasingly anguished old enemies in the star systems. All is not as it seems when two old enemies measure up again to negotiate their future relationship!
Harast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
Once again David Weber proves that there is still life in the stories of Honor Harrington. A great read for any fan of military science fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
Not the best in the series, primarily because it concentrates more on politics than action. The arc welding between the various sub-series doesn't help - if you haven't read the "Torch of Freedom" or "Shadow" sub series (which I haven't) then you're left wondering what's been happening; if you have then I guess it's covering old ground.

The other problem is that I simply don't believe the politics of the Solarian League. Mr Weber seems to have come up with a polity that is a weird aglomeration of the political structure of the EU (corporatist, not very democratic) with the Russian military (huge but fairly primitve) about to undergo a civil war over slavery (US in the 19th century). As a result of Countess Gold Peake's (Michelle Henke) actions in the Talbot Cluster, they decide to stamp down on the "neobarb" Empire of Manticore - and are thoroughly stomped by Manticore's much more advanced forces. Their response is not to find out how the hell the Manties achieved their victory (though one character does consider how it might have been achieved to come up with a completely erroneous theory for why it couldn't happen again - deliberate misinformation on the part of the real "Big Bad", Manpower), but to simply throw more ships at them until Manticore submits. That's a Zapp Brannigan strategy ("Throw ships at them until the wreckage chokes their gun barrels!") that no even vaguely responsive government could ever pursue - given it involves sending millions of soldiers to their deaths on Manticorean missiles, they'd mutiny long before you won. Of course, that's pretty much what Manpower/Mesa is counting on (they intend to forment a civil war to set up their version of the Confederacy out of the Ashes of the League) but you'd think somebody in the League would think about the consequences of such a bone headed strategy. And I have trouble believing in Manpower/Mesa too - they're a race of genetically engineered supermen who are sure they can win, yet it doesn't occur to their leader that a gang of Bond Supervillains are scarcely going to be the most cohesive force once it's clear that he intends to rule for a century and has his clone sons set up to succeed him. Set against that, I did actually believe the Havenite politics - there's a wonderful scene where Honor turns up on Haven with the Eigth Fleet and comms President Pritchard to say she's like a word, followed by a game of one-upmanship (I'd say dick measuring if either was a guy!) where they casually mention the names of those around them.

And no Honor novel would be complete without the death of somebody close to her. Operation Oyster Bay (although the name is chosen to suggest Pearl Harbour, it's actually closer to 9/11, given the millions of civilian deaths) results in the death of Andrew LaFollet, who dies protecting Honor's son (Honor considers it's a tragic irony that she reassigned him precisely because it was less dangerous on Sphinx, but that it was probably how he would have chosen to die).

As for the road ahead - it's clearly going to come down to the new Haven/Manticore Alliance against the Solarian League until they can find the true villains (Mesa/Manpower), who they now know are behind just about everything that's happened for the past ten novels. Who will win? Well, you never bet against the woman with her name in the title...
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
Having read all the books in this series and the spin off series I was eagerly awaiting the release of this main story arc book. I was not disappointed when it arrived but by the end was feeling a little unsatisfied .
The read kicks in at just under 600 pages and I must admit I was hoping for about 1000 and as other reviewers have said there is a cliffhanger ending but I just wish they had gone those few actions further in this instalment .

I did like this book but there were too many new characters added , old characters popped up for no reason in scenes where they were not needed , Ginger Lewis had 2 paragraphs to overhear a conversation which we would have had anyway so no point in adding her to the scene. Hexapuma was mentioned and activities of her crew that mattered not one jot to the overall outcome of anything.

This book once again seemed to be setting the arc up for a new direction just like Torch Of Freedom , I look forward to the next instalments of the series but hope for more action and resolution than questions.
Things are ( or soon will be ) out in the open action is what's needed not background.

If you have been reading the series this will add to it , not massively but fairly satisfyingly , it will give you you Weber fix until his next release but I hope his next one is more focused and decisive in direction .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
This is Weber at his best - I can't wait for the next book in the series .
He manages to pull together previous storylines very well .
Plus he is now set up to bring out Honor's 'darker side' for future books .
Extremely good read
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Another great book from Honorverse and I love it and looking for the next one.
Will collect complete series :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
great book loving the whole thing,a lot of politics sometimes but realistic and great characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse