Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2009
As a professional who specialised in working with people who had survived serious brain injuries it was most valuable (and at the same time humbling) to read Antoinette's account of her brain injury and its consequences.
The book is so well written that it is most readable - and as well as offering a personal account it also provides useful information on the psychological and cognitive consequences of experiencing a brain injury. But it is never "dumbed down".
Antionette's honesty, courage, and determination all emerge in her account of her recovery - and as she herself recognises, things are not over yet as far as her future development is concerned. The length of time which recovery from a severe brain injury takes is rarely taken into consideration by any of the statutory services, and it remains for the private and voluntary sectors, for example Headway (the UK organisation for brain injury) to help people pick up the pieces and continue with a meaningful - yet altered - life. This is what Antionette portrays so clearly and vividly. It has taken her years to recognise that she can't now make it as a medical doctor, but has to carve out new aspirations for herself. This book is itself a huge contribution to medicine, in that it is a unique account of events from the "patient's" point of view.
As such I will be recommending it to anyone and everyone who has anything to do with working with survivors of brain injury - whether they be volunteers, paid staff, carers or statutory purse string holders.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2008
This is a compelling read. I thought: 'I'll just read a chapter or so, for now' - and ended up reading the lot until the early hours of the morning! The evident frustrations and compassion reflecting the family dynamics, is described with a mixture of sensitivity and 'no holds barred' honesty. Neither does the author over-indulge in self-absorption, inasmuch as she might allude to periods where such feelings understandably arose; and then leaving it at that. It is the tenacity of the human spirit which clearly shines through; both the author's own, and that of her family. Might someone 'enjoy' reading Ms. Anthony-Pillai's personal account of her brain injury? Well, and with respect - yes!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2008
The book inspires and faces up to the dark moments that inevitably follow a brain injury. It was a good mix of realism,irony and humour. The journey may be never ending but read this book yourself.It's well worth the trip.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
So many people write books for those with a disabilty but this is the author's unique story of her experiences and I would imagine it to be very helpful if someone in your family is suffering from a brain injury. The author writes about her "accident" and subsequent problems with candor, honesty and wit. At times you want to cry and sometimes you laugh out loud as she describes the things that happen to her. Her reactions to her family and in turn their actions enable one to put yourself in her shoes and understand what it must be like. It is short, beautifully written, eloquent and honest.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2009
A book that inspires resilience and hope in the face of challenges presented by traumatic brain injury. It provides an honest and straight forward account of what it is like to live with an "invisible" brain injury in the most brilliantly simple manner. It gives insights into the struggles of family relationships following injury and the love and trust that prevails in difficult times. A truley wonderful accomplishment that unlocks some of the mystery and confusion about life after brain injury. A fantastic contribution that will enrich and touch all who have a read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
Following Antoinette through her journey was an emotional experience for me. So sad to see so much, so bright a future lost in a moment and yet so heart warming to know that she has come a long way overcoming the effects of her injury to share her life in a book. I think this book is a courageous accomplishment. Thoughtfully written and consciously in keeping to her goal of educating and imparting so that others can learn to live a better life despite having to deal with the horrors of brain injury. I salute you dear Antoinette.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
What a beautiful book and miraculous recovery. An extraordinary story on the slow, painful steps of recovering from injury. A journey borne out of catastrophe but full of hope, challenges, adversity , joy, despair and triumph . The author's candid yet amiable and humorous writing style is easy to read and adds weight to the honesty of the accounts, trials and tribulations. The power of faith, family and belief plays out in real life.

Not only will this book help readers understand their friends and relatives actions, behaviours and thoughts during recovery, it is an inspirational and humbling story on overcoming the pitfalls in life. Hence I fell this book will also provide encouragement those experiencing difficult times and help those realise what might initially seem like a Never Ending Journey of despondency, can turn to one of hope and aspiration.

I sincerely hope there will be a continuation of this `tale' .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This book was helpful to me, and enjoyable to read too. My husband has a serious head injury and although the author is much less disabled than him, I found it very interesting to read about her mood swings and general change in ability to do every day tasks etc, - because it gives me a good idea of what to expect in the future as my husband continues to make a recovery. I can already see similarities between him and the author and also between myself and her family, which is actually very helpful to my understanding of him and also of how I am feeling sometimes! (...that I'm not the only one who feels that way!) It is not easy being the family of a brain injured person, and I have a lot of respect for the author and her family and I wish them all the best and God's blessing upon them - myself also being a born again Christian.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
I was fortunate to meet Antoinette recently & would have had no idea of her background. This is an honest account of the situation she found herself in after her unfortunate "accident". It is thorough in examining her thoughts, feelings & aspirations alongside those closest to her. It is a must read for those that have suffered or been affected by a brain injury. In fact it should be compulsory reading for medical professionals dealing with people affected however it is an excellent read for anyone of any walk of life. It has given me a real insight & hope that it provides a good platform of understanding as we develop our new friendship. An awesome book & I hope there is a follow up as I am sure there is much much more still to be written........
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
This was a very insight short book I was riverted through out. A very useful tool to share with friends if someone is suffering from a head injury. This tells a story of someone who had maped out her life in a medical path. The decisions someone takes to reinvent themselves after a brain injury of trial & lots of error a appropiate title. Brain or Head Injury effects many more people as medical advancements are able to keep people alive. But one forgets more & more are living with impaired of some kind & managing them & moving forward we must congratulate their achievements in a otherwise unforgiving world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)