Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 20 June 2015
The book is leather bound hardback in beautiful print, with some illustrations, and is a good addition to one's library. It has all of Andersen's short fairytale stories and many of them make an excellent read with hidden morals. The book presentation and format, and the lovely stories, give great enjoyment. I consider the book a very good value.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
I bought this book, together with the Arabian Nights, as a special gift for my first grandson - I wanted something that he would treasure all his life and I particularly wanted a book which he could feel and appreciate for its workmanship - fairy tales and sagas should pour from the pages of a volume as glorious as the stories themselves and with this book they do just that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
Book was purchased as a gift for my grandaughter.Gave only 4 stars because appearance of book is spoilt by the addition of a sticker with the name DT Company Books & more 19777 N.76th St.S-2188 Scottsdale, AZ 85255 stuck inside the cover. my son feels that it gives the impression something is being hidden. This is an expensive collection and should be in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2016
This was a present. The state of the cover didn't matter because it'll be covered in brown paper anyway. Charming read for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2016
A lovely book for all ages
Well made
Great pictures
Great stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2017
Timeless classic. Especially good for teenagers wanting to learn epic literature and fairy-tales
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2015
Always a pleasure to read Hans Christian Anderson one of my favourite writer's ever since I was a small child
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2017
Not suitable for the age group advertised. Was bought as a present but unable to give to the child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2016
Excellent book. So happy with it. Quick postage. Fantastic seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2016
This has to be the worst 'translation' that I have ever had the misfortune to read. It is, in fact, an exceedingly bad transcription which has managed to mangle the beautiful language of H. C. Andersen. I would like to know who committed this abomination and also the language from which this person translated as I cannot fathom how 'Frederiksborg' became 'Fredericksburg' or how 'The Emperor' was demoted to 'The King'

Anybody looking for a truly magnificent English version should attempt to obtain a copy of the translation by Erik Haugaard who has faithfully reproduced the feel of the original Danish language of the time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse