Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2014
This is one of the great stories by Alexandre Dumas, written I believe between 1844/5. Much of the fiction written around this time is considered dated but this particular story has stood the test of time and is as fresh as the day it was written. It is a story that I have returned to many times over the years, often prompted by the release of a film or TV series, none of which come close to the drama and energy of the book. Anyone reading it for the first time cannot fail to be impressed by the storyline and the writing style of Dumas. Many of the "classics" are somewhat dry and stilted to the modern taste but this tale is anything but dry. It is vibrant and exciting from the first page to the last. It is an epic story by any standards, one thousand pages plus but holds the reader throughout, never boring or superflous in any way.

Why did I feel the need to buy another copy, having already said that I have read and reread the story in the past. Well the saying "Never judge a book by its cover" has just flown out of the window. Yes, I was seduced by the appearance and description of the book. The book is very tactile with its blue bonded leather binding, covered in graphics that relate to the story and these are a joy in themselves, not least the large sailing ship depicted in gold on the back cover. The satin ribbon bookmark is just another nice touch and finally the gilt edged pages give the book an opulent look, that amazingly is not reflected in the price. Plus, best of all I know that when I have finished handling and enjoying the appearance and feel of the outside of the book, there is an amazing piece of writing waiting for me on the inside.

My only criticism is that I cannot understand why the publisher has not given the same lavish treatment to the Three Musketeers by the same author. If and when they do I will have a space ready and waiting in the bookcase.

There are a number of classic books by these publishers (Barnes & Noble) virtually all with leather bindings and unique front covers. These are definitely worth a look by people who are searching for something special and out of the ordinary for that special place in the bookcase, or even as a gift for other discerning bibliophiles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
The Count of Mentecristo by Alexandre Dumas is one the greatest books that I have come across. Depending on the version you get as you have to be careful which one as there are different versions out there. I would recommend The Complete and "UNABRIDGED" version as it includes the whole book not like the "ABRIDGED" versions that are shortened. So just something every reader has to watch out. Highly recommend The Count Of Monte Cristo book as it is simply fantastic. For a few quid you will have a great book in your collection. Great seller. Fast delivery. Thank You.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
Firstly, a quick note on this edition: having started an old, archaic and atrocious translation to begin with, I can heartily recommend the crystal prose of Robin Buss's translation for Penguin Classics... The difference was startling, and it made it an absolute joy to read where it could so easily have become a chore!

Now, this is going to be a tricky one to review. What to say about a book so well loved, so widely read, so generally revered? Well, let's start with the basics, the bits most people already know. The novel opens with young Edmond Dantes, on the verge of becoming captain of his merchant ship and husband of the beautiful Mercedes, being betrayed by his jealous friends and thrown into jail for his alleged support of Napoleon. During his fourteen years in the terrifying Chateau d'If, he meets a 'mad' old abbe, who introduces him to the world of learning and tells him about a secret treasure that he wishes Edmond to have should he ever escape. Well, escape he does, and is reborn as the Count of Monte Cristo, using his incredible wealth, power and intelligence to bring justice down on the heads of the three men who condemned him to the dungeons.

This book is so many things: it is epic, complex and exciting; it is heartbreaking, sorrowful and romantic. It touches on the heights of emotion, society and the human condition, as well as the depths of despair, corruption and depravity. I found myself speeding along in breathless excitement as Edmond's true identity was revealed to each of his tormentors, and felt the full horror of the tangled webs he wove to destroy them one by one. It made me ponder the relationship between wealth and power, between knowledge and power, and the way that faith can save someone's life but also, if they don't take care, lead them down a path swathed in darkness. The Count's lesson for jealous Danglars, for example, was deeply satisfying - whereas his quiet destruction of Villefort's entire family was devastating to read. Of course, all this is terribly unlikely and deeply dramatic, but that is part of its charm - this is escapism at its finest!

Quite simply, this is a masterful novel that drew me in gently then refused to let me go. The characters are wonderfully drawn - I even got a bit of a crush on Dantes, fallen angel that he is - and the story seeps forward deliciously, bringing everything slowly into focus as the scattered elements of the Count's plans draw together. This is definitely going to be one of my top reads of the year and one of my favourite books ever! Read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
If I had to choose one book for my desert island it would be this one. This story has everything : love, betrayal , greed, revenge, redemption and a fabulous fortune which enables the Count to plan his revenge against those who condemned him to life in a dungeon. The film interpretations are mostly rubbish - the DEFINITIVE Count of Monte Cristo was played by Alan Badel in a BBC version in about 1964 which will never be equalled. Alas no recordings of this masterpiece exist and Badel died at a young age many years ago.

I digress - a magnificent story, far superior to Lord of the Rings as a long epic, just go and read it !!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Fabulous and intriguing. A wonderful read that kept me coming back to see if revenge would indeed as sweet and placating to the soul as hoped...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
If you haven't read this book, what are you doing. Seriously what are you doing. Its a great all-time classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Absolute genius storytelling - definitely among the best works dealing with karma, nemesis and revenge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
Great product! If I had the opportunity, I would buy it again, for sure.
Good buy and good seller, the whole process was OK.
Recommendable! 100%
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Wonderful book, nicely bound and printed with quality paper, a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
My wife is reading it at this moment - up to page 659 (halfway).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse