Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
Simply Class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Clicked on "Kindle Edition" from a page advertising Chapman's translation. Now i notice that the Kindle page describes it as Pope's translation. The text is neither but some random modern translation.

On this page there is also advertised an ebook with a cover that proclaims "Chapman's Homer" but which according to the blurb is another modern translation by Griffiths.

Does Amazon really not grasp the idea that the same book can exist in different translations? And that it might be important to let the reader know which one they are actually selling?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
The Odyssey brings all those Greek gods into reality, and there's a few of them, like hundreds. The Iliad very very gory, but like the Odyssey stories you knew as a youngster brought to life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
A beautifully bound book of exceptional quality and for an unbeliveable price.
Very quick delivery, delighted all round.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
This is a stunning edition of a great story. The notes seem rather tortuous for a paperback edition, but then the text is so clear that not much added information is.needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Love ancient history and loved this book.had me gripped on every page .the man was either there or had the greatest imagination. If I ever lost this book I would easily buy another copy from this place
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Great just what I wanted thank you :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2016
Excellent condition, looks great
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
arrived very late but a good book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
Got this book for my boyfriend for his birthday. It's absolutely gorgeous - gilt-edged pages, embossed cover. Butler's translation is very readable, but I'm not sure why Barnes & Noble have gone to the trouble of Americanising his spelling? Seems a lot of work for something so superficial.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse