Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 July 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2005
What a beautiful book. Absolutely bustling with amazing images. National Geographic have ignored the usual pretty landscape pictures for visuals that paint a portrait of Earth.
Admittedly 'coffee table picture' books are two a penny nowadays but this one is certainly one of the best.
Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.
11 Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 March 2009
The positives: this book is large, heavy and full of photos, as one might expect. The photos are often of quite extraordinary places and one might think that that would be enough to make the photos interesting. However, please just make absolutely sure you really want this book before ordering as it is very heavy to return and surprisingly Exp... to do so!

The negatives: The photography isn't as interesting or even inspiring photos as the many of the places deserve. It is from a book like this that one gets to appreciate exactly why it is a golden rule that photos should be taken at dawn or dusk: the so called "golden hours". For few of the photos in this book were taken during these hours and as a result, all too often the places captured are more interesting than the photos taken to represent them. The point of a photography book is to inspire people to go and do the same as a great photographer. The point of this book seems to be to capture certain places and events, so that a story can be woven around the photos. Thus the photos, in many cases, don't particularly speak for themselves as great photos. Too many just stand as accomplished professional photos which have been mass printed for professional publication. In other words, they are ultimately... boring. So bear in mind when buying this book that you are indeed buying "greatest places" and *not* "greatest photos". There is a big difference in expectation between the two. Lastly, I disliked the print quality and expected better: grain was obvious in many of the photos as if the photos were over-produced and over reproduced.

If you want a book of greatest photos and not strictly greatest places (albeit it's ultimately subjective as to why the places featured were greater than those which didn't make it into this book) then you should consider either "Landscape Photographer of The Year Collection 01" (hard to find) or, "Collection 02".

In conclusion: as long as you don't buy this book in the hope that it will inspire you to go out and take some stunning photographs, then it isn't bad at all; albeit as a photographic tome, it's also not particularly inspiring.

Three stars out of five.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2006
I recieved this book for my 21st birthday and was certainly not dissapointed. It's full of beautiful pictures of landscapes, people and animals from every area of the world. Each photograph is briefly described and the book is divided into areas of the world. Its a real mixture of photos, all very beautiful and interesting to look at. I was surprised by how large the book was, defintely great value for money.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
A really wonderful coffee table book, full of inspiration and wonder. When purchasing this book, its important to remember that it was published in 2005 and the quality of both digital cameras and printing has come on leaps since then, so the pictures were likely taken on slide film not as digital, giving you a slightly grainy effect when photos printed in large. There is a nice balance between text, smaller photos, multiple photos per page, and larger photos spread over one or two pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
i bought the previous book 'through the lense' and was extremely impressed by the photographs, which made me buy this book, and i must say, once again, the photographs are amazing..there is such a diverse range of photos and everyone just wants to look through it..this is a must have most anyone with a love for great photographs
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I was very disappointed by this book. First of all: the format is too small to do most of the photographs justice (ok, I should I have checked this as the information is there, I didn't). Second (which is worse): most of the photographs cover two sides, creating a very unpleasant division in the middle of the photograph (it is a commmon National Geographics disease...). Third (worst): a large portion of every page/double page is dedicated to captions/titles...wasting space, between a third of a double page and even up to two thirds of a double page! It is is unnecessary, ugly, and distracts from the photographs. Most of the photographs are very nice, although to be honest mixed with a fair share of fillers....or maybe it is just the horrible presentation that affects my judgement. Not recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2007
Good photo's but why did they spread the pictures accross two pages, having the picture cut in half accross two pages is annoying.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2006
The book is sitting on my desk next to me, tempting me to abandon work & page through it some more. I can't wait to get it home & absorb myself in the images.

What a beautiful collection! I'm an amateur "snapper" and this inspires me to try for different views on this world of ours. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2006
Beautiful and inspiting photos. Great gift as coffee table book. Wish I could have kept for myself!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)