Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 April 2008
Gordon Root is to be congratulated on a highly readable, and well researched, account of the huge conflict on the Eastern Front of the Great War, so frequently overlooked by historians, transfixed by events on the Western Front. The scale of the conflict can be ilustrated by a few statistics, such as the lenght of the front, close to 1000 miles, the participation of 300+ Divisions,and the total casualty figures estimated to be in excess of 15 million. The political and ethnic complexities of this conflict are explained in detail, and the "Balkanised" route from Sarajevo to full scale war well documented. In contrast to the Western Front, this was a war of movement, with huge advances and retreats in both directions, before the Russian revolution, and the Armistice in the West brought matters to a close. All this is admirably described in this volume, with many fascinating glimpses of the conditions endured and the personalities involved. Unfortunately, due to publishing problems, the maps are not easy to read, but the book remains a "must" for those whose interest extends beyond the Western Front, or, indeed, those who consider that front to have been the only significant battlefield of the Great War.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
What Winston Churchill called "The unknown War" in 1930 now seems to be attracting more attention from historians. Mr Root has produced a lucid and highly readable account of Tsarist Russia's titanic struggles on the eastern front during world war 1. Although always struggling against German technical superiority, the Russian Army nevertheless gave a creditable account of itself during these operations and always had the measure of the Austro-Hungarian forces opposing it.

Anyone interested in the history of the First World War will find much to interest them in this well-researched work. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
this very underknown arena of WW1 has few works devoted to it. this was the first i turned to, but it had a very long though by no means unnecessary historical introduction going quite far back in time and presented in a complex manner without maps that could be properly viewed on Kindle which is where i read it. I think modern approaches to WW1 would ignore this material, but it is an interesting question whether it should be altogether ignored. The presentation of the war was not dissimilar - maps that could not be properly read on Kindle, and great detail that made it difficult to quite grasp without outside recourse what was happening and sometimes why. In view of feeling I had not quite got to the bottom of things, i then turned to another history
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
This is easily the best book I have read on the Eastern front during the great war. The military operations are described in vivid narrative, with compassion and genuine understanding. Mr. Root writes very well, with obvious enthusiasm for his complicated subject. I never found the book unengaging or dry. This is a military history, but with good descriptions of the political and cultural background as well. And unlike several recent authors on WWI, who for all their manifest "cleverness" at times seem quite lost in the geography, Mr. Root knows exactly where he is. There is a haunting sense of background atmosphere, through the half-forgotten landscapes of Galicia, Bukovina and East Prussia, as the gigantic armies clash. I was struck by the nuanced and unbiased narrative, with even the Romanians given some credit. The maps, prepared with obvious care, are not reproduced clearly and are almost intelligible. This, however, does not detract from a very clear five-star rating. This book should be better known!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
Well written and very readable exposition of the less well known, but key, battles on the Eastern front. Unfortunately, and it is a significant issue, the maps are entirely illegible therefore trying to follow the action, in a geographical sense, is almost impossible, particularly given that many names used in the historical context have changed due to border changes. Shame really as the text deserved a better companion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Who reads this book, esaly can understand an imagine the military operations, the economic and social situation of the warring countries, and the collapse of the empires in Eastern Europe. Were the maps bigger and contained the book photos, it would be perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2007
I found Battles East to be very well written and well researched. Recommended for the history buff in the family!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Another good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
I gave up on this as whenever i searched for third army it gave 13 pages of results but I couldn't get past page 5 without getting a warning that it could not be opened and if you bought it from amazon to download it again. The rest of the book seemed okay but with some errors (woyrsch commanding 9th army, archduke frederick commandng 1st army) which undermined my confidence in it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)