Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2012
Phyically I'd say that these publications are a bit flimsy so you'll need to look after them. Both the cover and pages are thin and wont stand up to a bouncing in a backpack.
That said though, you do get a lot of book for your money. Thick tome divided by thin pages equals lots of them.

Contents-wise these books are in a class of their own. Like Marmite you'll either love or hate them. They do purport to be science fiction but it's as the genre was expressed in the pulp magazines from the first half of the last century. So "It's SF Jim, but not as we know it".
Stylistically they put me in mind of the original old-timey Buck Rogers and Flash Gordon serials. There is no let up of the action, the story progression or the phenomenal body count of some of them. No one could accuse of them of being great literature, being littered as they are with gratuitous deus ex machina and cliff-hangers, but that is the price to be paid if you want to be "rip-roared".
If you are already a fan of Jules Verne or H.G.Wells you will probably enjoy them. If you're a fan of Robert E.Howard I would raise that to a certainty.

Furthermore, for me the story-lines coupled with their first person narration give them more than a touch of Arthurian romance and Sinbad the Sailor.

Anachronistic now, probably so when first published and all the better for it.
Approach them in the correct spirit and be stirred. HURRAH!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I have always been a fan of Sci-Fi, whether it be film or books. This collection of the John Carter books is the perfect blend of Science fiction, and classic literature. I often find that some 'Sci-Fi' books are really just regular adventure stories, with a couple of planets or spaceships thrown in for the sake of it, just so they are enable to label it as science fiction. In John Carter, however, the strange creatures, plants, civilisation and conventions of this new planet are fully explored, getting the John Carter character into some really new situations, where he must apply knowledge of his own world into this new environment.
I cannot say to much without giving away parts of the story, so I shall leave it as it is, but if you are looking for a black and white adventure story, this may be for you, and maybe some of the language is not suitable for younger readers, as it can be a challenge, but for those up to it, I highly recommend the John Carter series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I bought the three volumes in order to read them entirely and straight with no break in between with other books.
The author describes the planet Mars with great passion and details. you can almost feel you are part of it. some books may be sound less attractive; but overall the way characters evolve is interesting. volume one is more focused on JC and Deja Thoris, while volume two introduces you with the son of JC, his daughter etc...

for the equivalent of 45-50 EUR, it's a good investment. your imagination will work a lot, the same way it does with me with Verne or Wells. Burrough uses a Mars scaling (no Km or Miles), directions are different, salutations, protocole are different. Extra attachments are provided such as maps, glossary or further explanations.

Some game producer should defenitly create an RPG game based on JC of Mars. i would like to fly an Helium cruiser and cross desertic lands. The Disney movie has nothing to present in terms of quality; it's rather a pity that the two main actors were limited in their acting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Since Amazon has a tendency to attach reviews to products other than that being reviewed, I wish to clarify up front that I'm talking about the "Mars Trilogy" edition published by Simon and Schuster in 2012, and that my rating is specific to that (poor) edition and is by no means a reflection on the original Edgar Rice Burroughs Barsoom novels.

The book appears to have been created by a process of scanning, automatic spelling correction and type-setting. Unfortunately, it is clear that essentially no proof-reading has been applied, so that one is frequently confronted by the totally wrong word, and it is not always easy to work out what the original would have been.

The Amazon "Look Inside" feature, which ought to have made this obvious actually shows a different product, stating "This view is of the Paperback edition (2008) from CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. The Paperback edition (2012) from Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers that you originally viewed is the one you'll receive if you click the Add to Basket button on the left."

As a result I would caution against purchasing this specific edition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When Edgar Rice Burroughs began writing his Barsoom series, people didn't know a lot about Mars except that it seemed to have canals.

So Burroughs came up with his own elaborate fantasy world, populated by green barbarians, airships, multi-legged beasts and giant hairy white apes. John Carter is a bit of a Gary Stu, but at least he's a pleasant one -- and while "The Mars Trilogy:" starts rather slow, the following stories are fast-paced and brilliant.

During an Apache attack, ex-Confederate soldier John Carter takes shelter in a cave... and wakes on the planet Mars (or Barsoom), which is populated by Red Martians and the cruel Green Martian Tharks. When he falls in love with the Red Martian princess Dejah Thoris, John Carter embarks on a deadly quest to escape a Thark conspiracy...

"The Gods of Mars" sees Carter returning to Mars... but not to the place he left. Instead he is in a remote valley that is seen as the Martian afterlife -- anyone who goes there can never leave, and will be killed if they try. Those who are not devoured by the grotesque plant-men will be enslaved by White Martian Therns, and Carter soon finds that his friends and family are endangered as well...

"The Warlord of Mars" rounds off the story of John Carter, with Carter desperately trying to rescue his wife Dejah Thoris -- and the journey takes him on a chase across the full length of Mars. And as he ventures across the Martian poles, he encounters a whole new breed/color of Martians -- the cruel, cunning, technologically advanced Yellow Martians.

We now know that Mars is nothing like the Barsoom of Edgar Rice Burroughs' imaginings, but his alien world is a beautifully vivid, complicated one. In just three short books, he dreamed up multiple species, bizarrely alien flora and fauna (Woola, the ten-legged frog-mouthed doggy-thing) and strange cultural mores and honor codes. There's loving detail in everything he came up with.

The biggest problem with the trilogy is that the first half of "A Princess of Mars" is rather slow moving, with Burroughs doing little but introducing the Green Martian culture. Fortunately it speeds up in the second half, and doesn't slow down until the finale of "Warlord of Mars."

And Burroughs writes in a solid pulp style, with plenty of big acrobatic fight scenes, high-speed battles, and evocative descriptions of the wild, desertlike world of Barsoom and how very strange it is. And though he explores the ways in which the Martians are different from humans, Burroughs also produces some incredibly heartfelt moments.

John Carter is admittedly kind of a Gary Stu -- he's a noble soldier who is stronger and more acrobatic than anyone else on the planet, gorgeous women fall for him, and he instantly becomes an important figure in different warring cultures. I should hate him.

However, he's at least a LIKABLE Gary Stu, relatively humble and quick to help other people. There are also a pretty colorful (literally) and interesting array of characters -- Tars Tarkas, the noble and butt-kicking Green Martian; the feisty and proud Dejah Thoris; and the similarly awesome Thuvia. And of course, Woola.

"The Mars Trilogy" is a must-have for fans of science fiction, especially the classic pulpy variety -- colorful, well-developed and action-packed..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
No pictures sadly in the book but this is a good book to read I am not a book reader but this has got me into reading the descriptions of the alien world of Mars are great. Get this and the whole John Carter series and build your picture of an inhabited world that you start to be able to well imagine could be real.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
This is a very good value book, but as the print is very small you will need good eyesight to enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Forget the film-flop. These are the original and highly amusing stories. They aren't literature, but, pass away long flights or journeys, magnificently. There is a little implied-nudity but, nothing shocking and NO sex- this is a Victorian novel, after all. If you like Wells work, this is the next planet.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
can't believe this was written 150 years ago... a real page turner and worth a read by anyone wanting to ground themselves in real science fiction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I first read these books when I was a teenager, and still enjoy reading them. I am glad to be able to get them again after a long search.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse