Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2005
This is another book in Viz's series of Studio Ghibli English editions. The other's are 'Porco Rosso' and 'Spirited Away'. Happily I now have all 3 and they are excellent quality. The paper is a good weight and the print quality very good: the colours are vibrant. The books are not illustrated stories, they are artwork used in the movies, including frames, backgrounds, storyboards and CGI. If I say that nearly every page is frameable then you will perhaps get the idea. As an insight into Miyazaki's production process they are invaluable and they are beautiful things in their own right.
Get them while you can because I doubt Viz will keep copies in print for ever and a couple are only available from the USA (via Amazon UK).
NOTE: the 'paperback' claim on this item's description is inaccurate because the cover is hardback. It matches the covers of the other two books in the series which ARE described as hardback.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
I bought this book on the recommendation of a friend whose taste in books and film is actually really good. So I bought this book from Amazon UK knowing I could trust in the opinion I was given, and as it turned out it really is a good book.

Being a fan of anime and in particular Studio Ghibli films coupled with me already owning a number of art books it was unfortunate I never knew about this book previously. From cover to cover it is filled with scenes from the creative process of producing "Howl's Moving Castle" and also includes a complete script.

It doesn't just show the creative process, it tells the story of how they went about developing this animated movie starting with them going on location to Alsace in France, moving on to drawing rough concept artwork and then moving on to design particular set pieces and characters and some of the final pieces.

It really is amazing to see how they produced this fun film and to see what they come up with along the way.Howl's Moving Castle [DVD] [2005]
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
This was a gift for a friend, it arrived on time, and she showed me the book when she got it, she absolutely LOVED it, we're both big Ghibli fans, the book had no damage done to it, and yes, it's a very nice product, i want one for myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
The book is like THE book that collects absolutely EVERYTHING any fans and critics can ask of, such as the production processes, character development and aesthetic philosophy of Hayao Miyazaki carried out by his creative staff. All the interviews of each responsible staff in juxtaposition of the visual indulgence captured from the animation produce exciting coherence of Miyazaki's humanistic and environmentalist world-views in both fantastical worlds and social realities. You can literally feel how happy the Studio staff work in each project from their positive 'testimonials' of Miyazaki. Love this Christmas present for dissertation writing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This book is divided in 3 chapters:

Part I - Hayao Miyazaki's Concept Sketch Collection
The first part of the book works as an Introduction, containing a brief production diary and sketched storyboards. It is of particular interest to be able to see Miyazaki's work in its sketching phase.

Part II - Concept Art, Background Art, Character Designs and Character Sketches
This second part is where the book really comes alive. Character Designs and Concept Art are wonderfully detailed, and are accompanied by statements from Miyazaki's crew. I suppose it's a little disappointing that there are no words from Miyazaki himself, but this absence does not come as a surprise.

Part III -. Final Screenplay
Self-explanatory, the last 50 pages or so contain the final screenplay, in text. Probably the least interesting part of the book.

Overall, it's a beautiful book, filled with wondrous artwork and insight into what is probably Miyazaki's most enigmatic film, and to me, one of his best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book gives you an incredibly beautiful series of pictures from, and related to, Studio Ghibli's Howl's Moving Castle.

The book isn't a story book but the pictures are grouped together by scene or by building and many of the pages have a brief annotation. The annotations detail what the images are of and perhaps how the characters are feeling, they also clarify whether the images are from the film or are concept images. The book also describes problematic scenes which were difficult to animate - for example the machines used by Howl and Sophie to escape from the palace were not easy to animate as the animators had to visualise the scenes from all possible angles.

The stills from the the film are presented in incredible detail, I can't accurately describe how vivid and crisp these pictures are. Having seen this film many times I can almost hear the dialogue and the music in my head as I turn the pages and marvel at the sheer beauty of the images.

It isn't just familiar images from the film in here though, there are also sketches which give you an idea how the visuals started to take shape, and concept pictures which are in themselves excellent examples of fantasy art.

In a nutshell: This book will be appreciated by fans of the film, of animation itself, or of fantasy art. The Art of Howl's Moving Castle manages to successfully capture the essence of the film and present a series of beautiful imagery which takes your breath away when you view it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I love Studio Ghibli, who doesn't? This book is great, I purchased it because Howl's Moving Castle is one of my favourite movies from the studio and therefore, it was great to get a real insight into the character and environment designs. I also love drawing so the concept art was great to be inspired from. The pages and printing is top quality, no problems at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Huge book, brilliant quality pages and pictures. Beside hearing about all of the thoughts the animators had throughout the making, you also get to see Miyazakis own sketches and character art. Must-have for any Ghibli fan ♥
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2009
There's some beautiful and original artwork in this book. It would look great on your bookshelf but even better on the coffee table.
Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
As a Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki fan, I absolutely love this book! It is useful to us animation and art students as well as it gives some insight into the production process and has a lot of description about the artwork. The book got to me in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)