Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
175
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2003
this has a really good introduction with some info on the author and context. There is good commentry on words you mightn't understand as you go along and also includes Marlowe's B text at the end. I really enjoyed the story in this and when studying it for a level loved analysing all the hidden meanings and the relevence to Marlowes audience. This edition is popular among students and i recommend to all - it has good quality pages and space for notes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Marlowe's play is already fantastic, but the added commentry and notes on every page made it much more understandable and, therefore, enjoyable. I studied this text for my A2 English Literature class, where there was a wide range of abilities; this copy of the text suited everyone. Very easy to use and extremely informative. Great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
I got a used version of the book and it stated that it was written in pencil and very small amounts of highlighting. Every single page is highlighted and the notes the past owner did are all in pen. It was terrible. The actual book though was good. i enjoyed it.

Never getting a used version of this again though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
It does show man's greed for power to rule the world but then it relies too much on supernatural forces and good spirits and evil spirits and I am not very keen on that. The story has to be well grounded, belong to the ordinary man of this world, has to be realistic and believable.

Hari
Leamington Spa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I bought this for a course I am doing and expected to hate it. Actually it is very good, and thanks to the notes on the facing page, quite understandable. An age-old story in play form, and one of those 'on the list' - now I can tick it off, and I know what people mean when they use the adjective 'Faustian'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
i really enjoyed reading this.

although the language is slightly difficult in parts i have loved it. there is help on each page to help you understand what is happeneing in the play which is great. there is also info in the back of the book that is interesting about the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 1997
The story of the infamous Dr. Faustus shows depth on many levels. Marlowe explores the developing morality play genre while calling upon aspects of classic tragedy. The main character, Faustus, finds himself too intelligent for the sciences of mortal man, and pursues a god-like existence in exchange for his soul. Prodded and guided by Mephostiphiles, servant to Lucifer, Faustus explores aspects of nature and society that the common man only dreams about. The conflict within Faustus is the central focus of the play, and Marlowe challenges the reader to consider whether it is more worthwhile to pursue mortal prestige or eternal salvation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
The book was and still is in a fantastic condition. It was shipped to me in under a week, and in plenty of time for what I needed it for.

A fantastic story, with easy to understand language pages opposite the play and scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
A brilliant play that is famous for the right reasons, a classic idea that was made first here by the great hand of Marlowe. Fantastic! And for free?! Simply brilliant, something everyone should read at some point during their lifetime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This was the first of Marlowe's plays that I have read and I will be looking at more.

The man himself deserves his own story telling!

This is a good edition with good notes and commentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)