Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
96
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2014
Maybe if I had read this one first, it would have got five stars but the story is not as good as Iggy Peck. Still worth reading and the fabulous stylised illustrations delight in their own right.
Also good to have a female engineer as a role model.
Way to go Rosie!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
A wonderful book for little girls with enquiring minds that deserve so much more than a disney princess for a role model. My daughter loves this book and we have read it many times. The only downside is that the book is american and so is the language so some of the lines don't rhyme unless you say them in an american accent!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
A refreshingly techy book for little girls who don't want to be just girly. Rosie is a role model for the girl of today. My 4 year old Rosie recipient loved it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
This doesn't quite have the panache of Iggy Peck, Architect, but it is still lots of fun, and any book featuring a female engineer and celebrating the role of women in aviation history is a good thing in my book. It is also a book about persevering when things fail at first. I think maybe its worthiness dulls the story slightly?

So Rosie is in the same class as Iggy Peck (who isn't mentioned but is recognisable) and as you'd expect she likes to make contraptions. However, one of her earlier such inventions results in her getting laughed at by her uncle and she gives up showing people her inventions. Then her great-great aunt who used to build aeroplanes turns up and says she wants to fly. Rosie can't help but to try and make her a helicopter. However, when the helicopter only just gets off the ground briefly, her aunt laughs and she is filled with dismay. However, it turns out that of course her aunt is laughing with enthusiasm and of course everything ends happily.

The book did feel a bit American - less due to the language it uses than to the references to hot dogs, cheese spray etc. I felt it interfered a bit more with the book than with Iggy Peck architect but not ridiculously so.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Leading on from Iggy Peck Architect, another great kids story about the kids in grade 2 from Blue River Creek. My five year old loves it! Again amazing illustration from David Roberts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
My 6 year old took this book to bed with her, that's how much she loves it! The heroine was drawn with girls in mind, she is cute and interesting and struggles with herself after her uncle laughs at one of her inventions, a situation many kids can identify with. Her aunt then explains her that failing is good and necessary in order to get to your goal, a great message. The illustrations are superb and so detailed they can be looked at again and again. An absolute gem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Rosie has fantastic ideas and works so hard to make them real, then presents them to her favourite Uncle and...he laughs. The heartbreak! She grows more timid, but is inspired to try again. Will this time be different? Well, at some point in all our lives, we learn that sometimes never trying is worse than failing.

Great companion book to Iggy Peck:Architect. My 3 and 5 yr old kids love it and at the end of each reading, they hold their fists up chanting, "We can do it!" Great story, wonderful inspiration.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
This was a birthday gift for a 5 year old girl who loves building and making things and isn't your usual girly girl. Her Mum was grateful as well for such a thoughtful gift, and I'm told they spent some time curled up reading it together. Its a large hardcover book, with high quality printing on matt paper (I'm fussy about the artwork and how its printed) not to mention the very catchy rhyme and loveable character. Rosie is a feisty girl who doesn't give up on her dream. All in all, a perfect choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
This is one of my five-year-old son's all-time favourite books. We bought it for him a year ago, and it still regular comes out when he's choosing books for story time.

I love it, as well. They key message—that failure isn't something to be feared but to be learned from—is fantastic. It also doesn't hurt that the main character—a creative, ambitious, budding engineer—is a positive female role model.

I don't write many reviews, let alone may five star reviews, but this book very much deserves it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
This book has been the star of the show in Book Week amongst our Infant departments. It supports Growth Mindset, equality issues, biography, history and sheer good story telling. It is wonderfully supported in its pictures. My mantra of 'Picture books should be read by all' has hit home with our parent body too, who have been busily enquiring after 'Rosie Revere' as their children have returned talking about it. It should be on every bookshelf,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse