Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
This is a book every poker player, online or live, can learn something from. Phil Gordon is a true expert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2006
There has long been something of a shortage quality literature on poker (With the exception of 2+2 publications) and more specifically, a shortage of literature about No Limit Hold 'EM. Phil Gordon's LGB book goes some way to addressing this and should be of use to both tournament and cash-game players alike.

Despite being a relatively short book, it provides a treasure trove of advice and tips on all aspects of NLHE, organised through a series of general thoughts and musings rather than any the step-by-step approach seen in many books. While the book does work through the traditional Pre-flop/Flop/Post flop sequence, this is merely a way for Gordon to organise his miriad thoughts on all aspects of the game. The short to-the-point and easy to read chapters make this ideal bathroom reading and it's conversational, rather than deeply analytical style will lend it's self well to begineers.

It's more informative than instructional, it's not going to make a poker player suddenly start stomping games but it will take someone who knows a little about poker and make them much more comfortable, while also offering the advanced player some food for thought.

Looking forward to his Little Blue Book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2006
I really like this book. It's easy to read yet very informative at the same time. It's not a deep theoretical / mathematical book like the ones Sklansky, Miller et al put out. It's also not as poe-faced and intractable.

Phil covers the whole game not as a course but as little expositions on each part of the game. You don't learn to play a system but learn how to think about each aspect. Specifically you learn how Phil thinks and plays. Having said that you probably get more specific practical advice in this book than most no-limit books. He does have suggestions on how to play say top two-pair in early position etc. He also outlines some of his favorite plays. This makes the book very useful to the beginner IMO. You can play like Phil does as a starting point and you will be playing a reasonably game that will stand up at low level stakes and free your mind up for thinking and learning. This is in contrast to say "No Limit Hold'em: Theory and Practice" which is so theoretical and mathematical that I find it very hard to put into real play. If you are like me, you can only take one new piece of information to a poker table at a time or you just get confused. Phil's format works well in this respect. You can dip into the book, pick up an idea, and try it out.

It's also a nicely produced hard-back book that will last for years.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Just a really good solid, easy ti understand book on Texas holdem poker - i have it on audiobook too and listen to it in the car as it is good to just keep going over his thought patterns and making sure you have the basics down tight - highly recommended for beginner to intermediate players - from when you know the rules and a bit of strategy and want to get better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
This is the fifth Poker book I've read and is hands down the best so far. It's more of an intermediate/advanced book which assumes a basic understanding and knowledge of the game that you can build on. It reads almost like a Professional Poker Player's Diary; with tips, stories and guides to hands and plays etc, which all come with easy to follow examples. Without a shred of a doubt it has improved my game in the week or so it took me to read it, and I will doubtlessly be referring to specific chapters again in the future. If you have been playing for a while and are looking to up your game, look no further! A very engaging and highly useful read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
I have to say when it came to reading about poker I wasn't really excited about it. This book has changed that. I couldn't put it down. Phil Gordon's style of teaching is great, easy to follow and has definitely improved my game.

I would highly recommend this to any avid texas holdem player who is interested in improving their game.

The strategys are sound and the maths aren't too difficult.

Onto the blue book now :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Excellent reading. Probably more suited for an intermediate player than for a total beginner. Should be bought together with the little blue (for the hands examples) and the little gold book (for the update on online poker and different strategies more up to date). Phil is a great player and a better teacher. You will definitely understand the game better after reading this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
This book should be the first book you read whether you're an accomplished poker player or just starting out. It's an easy read and goes a long way to explaining the simplest of poker related questions and some of the more complex. Since reading this book (& Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book') I have played two cash games, played for 6-7 hours and made over £600 profit!! I think that speaks volumes for this book and it's little blue friend!!

Teddy Mead (poker enthusiast but by no means 'accomplished pkayer'!)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
if you dont want to read a lot but want to get started with a good easy read this is the poker book for you hes a great knowledge base and this is a great book and i think hes bringing a new one out mid winter . also availible in audio read by him also great to listen to over and over and as you play these lessons will become apparent but its up to you how you use his info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)