Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2013
Provides a great in depth look on how Google is - what happened to make it so and some of the war stories from the early days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Very good audio. You need this in your collection to really understand Google. It is about 20 hours long and very well read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Very good book about the culture of Google and will help you understand the way they work. Essential reading for anyone in online marketing if they want to understand Google. Mantra is incomplete, they quote "don't be evil" but the full version is "don't be evil, only we are allowed to be evil"!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Must read: Levy is a great writer, deeply perceptive, and had unprecedented and wide-ranging access to the key players. Those are the ingredients for a revealing and enlightening synthesis of not just google, but an example of human enterprise in action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
This is a fascinating book for the IT illiterate like me. It is a revelation as to how search engines work. I was amazed by the maths behind the programmes and by the sheer volume of data processed. The history of Google is very interesting, as is their corporate culture and identity.
What struck me most of all is how isolated and cut off from the real world the people in this company seem to be. This book explains a great deal about google and some of the insights into the intrusion into personal information are quite concerning. Into The Plex is well worth reading from that aspect alone. I did wonder whether George Orwell's 1984 should be mandatory reading for Google's employees.
This book is very well written, easy to read and slightly chilling.It tailed off a little towards the end - but so did the Google storey as the company became mainstream and less innovative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
This book gives an amazing insight into one of the world's most innovative companies. The level of access that the author had to many of the movers and shakers in the Google story is evident throughout, and adds a whole new aspect to the story we've all heard before.

The author is evidently a big proponent of Google; the book is pervaded by his excitement about Google, and his passion for their vision. If it weren't for the final chapters of the book, which deal with Google's recent issues with anti-competition investigations, and a disastrous attempt to break into China, the author could be classified as a Google evangelist. As it is though, it is apparent that he is merely an awed observer of Google's success, and a believer in "the Google way".

A highly recommended view into a fascinating company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
One of the best company biographies I've ever read. Steven Levy is an excellent author.
To write this book he researched over a thousand sources!
If you want to know all about Google from its first steps till 2010 this is the best book out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Having read the first half of the book which I found informative if not very repetitive I was shocked and appalled to read the following, "Matt Harding began posting videos of himself dancing (spastic, cringe-worthy nerd dancing.......". To have people afflicted with cerebral palsy to be described in such a despicable and demeaning way. His insensitivity beggars belief and he should hang his head in shame. He could start by donating his royalties to SCOPE and I deeply regret adding to his income.
E R Jones
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)