Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 20 September 2015
This is the third book in a trilogy of stories which features a number of Star Trek entities, from ‘Next Generation’, ‘Deep Space Nine’ and ‘Voyager’ worlds. The story (and the trilogy) were written by David Mack, a prolific author in the Star Trek universe. So you know you’re in safe hands here, for continuity, characterisation and the whole Star Trek experience.

In this third book of the trilogy the action continues direct from the end of the second book, ‘Mere Mortals’. The main narrative takes place in February 2381. There is a flashback portion as well, which is integral to the plot which takes place in 2381. The story continues the struggle of the Federation and their allies against the seemingly unstoppable Borg onslaught. All seems hopeless, and millions more lives on countless more worlds seem fated to be lost. Picard is struggling with his own demons from his past with the Borg; Riker is agonised over his decision to leave Deanna Troi behind and their unexpected intruder; Dax feels her own destiny must be confronted now, or it never will be.

One of the delights of these books is that we get to read so much of the fears and hopes of many of the individual crew members, and ‘incidental’ players in the so much bigger and broader universal battle against the Borg. Crew members, individuals in the Federation government, Klingon warriors; they are all here, and all individualised and personalised, so that the reader feels they are also a part of the whole epic story which is now coming to its conclusion. What happens, and how it happens is really cleverly thought through, and offered with great conviction. I felt it would have been nice to have got inside the ‘minds’ of the Borg Collective a little earlier in the trilogy, but this last book in this mammoth story (over 800 pages across the three books) really races along at a great pace, and to a very successful conclusion. A great read, and thoroughly recommended for anyone wanting a great Star Trek story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
For what is the final book in the trilogy, it brings the saga to a satisfying end. Issues surrounding the Borg are tied up, thankfully, after having so many recent novels devoted to them they were getting a little tiresome. The Federation is facing oblivion, along with the rest of the Alpha quadrant, and after actually getting a good thrashing, pluck something out of the hat. Excellent read, gets the imagination going. Would make a great game!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
..there is one point in this story were a character refuses to build a weapon that could potential stop the Borg due to moral considerations. I wont go into too much detail for those who have yet to read the book but at this point in the story millions have already died, the federation is on the brink of utter annihilation and basically the end is nigh. Given the predicament the characters find themselves in I found it utterly unbelievable that any way to stop such a ruthless enemy would not be followed up to the hilt and executed with all alacrity. The moral refusal just didn't sit right with either of the characters involved, and it felt more like an excuse for the writer to beat us over the head with his own oh-so-right-on politically correctness then anything to do with how real characters would act faced with the end of everything. I think this is the best book in the series but Picard is a shadow of his TV series self. He seems to spend most his time telling other characters they are being reckless for trying to fight back - this when any real commander would be exploring and actioning any and all options to stop the slaughter. I'd love to see a Star Trek book with the moralising cut to the minimum. Oh I know, I know, the whole ethos of the Trek world is the belief that we can act better then we have in the past, stand on the moral high ground. But when faced with the end of everything at the hands of a remorseless enemy I rather fancy morals would go out of the window. There would be only one aim: To kill them, kill them all!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Take no notice of the few trolls giving this book a bad rating they obviously haven't read all three books or are bored with their lives,this book is truly great and a good way to finnish of this superb trilogy the writer obviously knows he's stuff and tied off everything perfectly leaving no plot holes or loose ends,they only thing I didn't like was that it ended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
The third book just keeps getting better. Its so good that i doubt it can be beaten. the story line is exciting and fun. The Borg finally come full force into Federation space. The fleet set to stop them gets swatted like flies. The end of the federation hangs in disturbingly bad odds that would send most people fleeing for their lives. The Borg are an unstoppable force leaving destruction and death in their wake. Only three ships may have a chance of stopping them The Aventine, Enterprise and Titan try to do the impossible with the help of a former Earth Ship Captains help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
I have just finished the trilogy and have been blown away by the ending (i won't spoil it, suffice to say, it's awesome). This has to be the most audacious piece of Trek fiction i have ever read, whoever comissioned this must have had some guts, because it could so easily have blown up in their face. This i believe will become highly controversial (if it hasn't already) as a result of the ending. My only qualms were that the pace was a bit too slow in places and that i can't help but feel it would have made a better duology than a trilogy (a tightening of the action wouldn't have gone amiss and some of the caeliar flashbacks felt unneccessary and clunky). Generally superb though with a classic cliffhanger at the end of book 2. I read them all in one go and sturggled only at the beginning of the third book. Brave concepts, Classic battles and a seemingly undefeatable foe make this trilogy as close to an epic legend as star trek fiction will probably ever get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2009
talk about shooting your readers into the foot. Just as I was getting close to the middle of this particular book out comes 'Losing the Peace' and 'Over a torrent sea' which effectively spoils the suspense of who will survive the boring Borg and who will not. I'll say no more about those. It is hard to criticise the effort and imagination that has gone into this trilogy but at the end of it there's a residual feeling of 'less than epic'. It cracks along at a fair pace - just like the tv episodes did (and the films didn't always manage). Perhaps the characters are too familiar now. Picard is turning into a grumpy old man who should get a desk job at Starfleet HQ; Riker is turning into the grey automaton that Shelby almost ousted; Worf is just a growling old Klingon with even fewer career prospects than old Geordie or Guinan. Something fresh and startling was needed for the Trek universe and with Janeway being assimilated I thought 'here we go'! This wasn't it. With their perpetual cries of 'exterminate' in this trilogy the Borg officially became the Daleks of the Trek universe whilst Picard's ability to be cranky and still pull the unexpected rabbit out of the hat gives him the Dr Who badge. 'Destiny' points out the dangers inherent in a franchise - a lesson that was also obvious recently in the 'Nightside' series by Simon green. Perhaps 'A singular destiny' - another follow on from 'Destiny' will propel us to something fresh.
I really hope so.
matt, loughborough, England.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
A fantastic end to a fantastic trilogy. I had my misgivings at the start for a series that focused on the whole of the star trek universe in the post-TNG era, but it was in good hands with Mack, and this final episode especially was hard to put down.

Mack cleverly reintroduces a plot element that was hanging over from the first book but had almost been forgotten having not been mentioned in the second. This draws the three parts of the trilogy and the multiple arcs within it together to lead to a satisfyingly rounded climax.

The solution gradually became clear throughout, but at no point was there a feeling of knowing exactly where things were going, and although you know the good guys have to win in the end, Mack at least makes it entertaining to find out how they get there.

My one criticism is the low use of the Voyager characters once again - this time they are only mentioned in passing: other than Seven they don't even get any 'screen-time' in this novel.

Finally, it has a good ending, not too drawn out, but still satisfyingly tying up each of the characters' arcs, but still in a way that leaves the reader wanting more... and there's plenty more to come according to the ads on the inside back cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
I love the trilogies on trek. I also loved the Vulcan's soul trilogy because three books give the author so much more time for characterization of new or unfamiliar characters. David Mack has done a great job with the new characters here and hasn't fallen into the trap of including some characters just for the sake of it, and I found myself engulfed in the tapestry of this story. I found myself forcing myself to put down the book and save some for later, and when I was done I felt a sense of satisfaction at knowing that the story had come full circle and had reached a satisfying end.

I hope that's it for the Borg now. I felt that it had all got a bit sloppy in the post-nemesis novels. But they are necessary if you don't want to be lost before you've begun. You need the backstory.

Top marks!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
So after dozens of set up novels, spanning the whole Star Trek saga, we come to the end. Or at least the end of the adventures we know, an all consuming trilogy, Destiny taught us about things we never dreamed of really understanding, The origin of the Borg for example.
And yet, when that conclusion is reached, I found it somewhat unsatisfying.
Well written, excellent characterisations, fantastic choreographed battle scenes on the intense level i expect from Trek.
Very enjoyable, but seeming shallow at the time. Maybe more could have been made from such an expansive crossover? Some kind of interaction between Picard and Johnathan Archer, Kirk Vs The Collective?
As interesting as the Cealiar were, they came across as old school preachy Trek, you almost wanted them to become... what they eventually became. Thats not a spoiler, its mind blowingly obvious from the first flashback.
Nice third book, cant wait to see whats in store for all the characters after this, although i uspect it'll be a long while before we meet the continuing voyages of the U.S.S Enterprise again as the next TNG novels are set earlier in the timeline.
And why is Dax no longer on DS9? Anyone??? At least TNG novels are churned out at a decent speed, we have to wait years for each DS9 installment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse