Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2015
Great read, very interesting. Helped shed some light on a lot of back story for the xpac.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Well i was looking forward to this book immensely. I love all the Warcraft books, and as Stackpole is such a well known and well read writer i was expecting great things.
This was not to be.
The book was very tedious and long winded It didn't give us any insight into what's coming for the Horde, or the world in general, which was disappointing as it was implied that it would.
Underwhelming and a let down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Vol'jin: Shadows of the Horde is from an author who just got into Azeroth, and much like Christie Golden's "Lord of the Clans" and Knaak's "Day of the Dragon" novel has a different tone then the later novels would have.
Stackpole's novel is a different beast all together because it is pretty much like a kung fu movie. Elements such as Meditation, Foreign ways of thinking, Parabels and of course action are all in this title. If you are a fan of those, this will be right up your alley.
The problem for fans who liked the previous novel and its larger cast and world building, it will be dissapointing. Despite it being called Shadows of the Horde, Vol'jin ( and Chen Stormstout by a stretch) is the only Horde character here and it deals with him trying to find out where he belongs in a Horde after its current Warchief would try to have him killed. And the events of this novel are mostly on Pandaria, save for a few flashbacks here and there.

Now for Vol'jin fans this is a good novel because it deals with him in greater depth then in Golden's "Tides of War" novel. His relationship with the Darkspear's Loa Bwonsamdi is very cool ( he worships the god of death, that is Crom level of awesome) and his strategic mind is pretty much like we see him in the game where he is the strange yet very effective General.
This Machivilian attidude persists throughout the novel and most of his interactions with the other cast members.

The other cast members are good enough for what they serve to do, Chen Stormstout being the one that pops out the most for being the odd fish out despite the fact he is the same race as most of the other monks. And of course him finding a lady panda to spend the rest of his life with does raise the stakes for him in the climax of the novel.

This novel deals mostly with Pandaren and Mogu backstories, but there is a decent amount of Troll history here as well so for troll fans this is a must buy title.

In conclussion: If you love Vol'jin and Kung Fu style cinema with a healthy mix of Voodoo elements, this is the novel for you.
For those who prefer the grand scale of epic battles of thousands of humans fighting orcs and with a large cast of several races, this might not be the novel for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
It starts slowly, this is true but it gives it an insteresting insight to Vol'jin's religious and culture views of the trolls. The same can be said for the human charator, relieving the mind of an alliance soilder. Its also a good and indept look of the shadow pan monks and ofcourse we learn a little more of Chen stormshout.
I found this book interesting and certainly different to other world of warcraft books.
Some critaziums would be that it could have gone into want happened when Garrosh found out when he heard Vol'jin was dead, Vol'jin and Thrall's reunioun before the troll rebelian in the Barrens. Would love to know what we were all doing while the trolls walked into the Vale.. I would have throught Braine and Loth'thamer (excuse the spelling mistakes) would have made a refferance into the book too..

I think this book is worth a read, but i would say if your not into indepth look at charators and with a limited amount of information and slow pace with a lot of philosoical discussions this is not for you

Now I am waiting for one on the Tauren (the most lore staved race of them all!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
great book to read, would recommend it to everyone who likes to read about the current treaterous developements in the game.
the only downside is that the book is completely about vol'jin and his time in pandaria, no side stories of whats happening in azeroth after he got betrayed...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I really enjoyed this book; try not to let people's negative reviews put you off. True, there is not a swathe of the usual lore characters, but I loved getting to know the trolls a lot more. Chen was also a really fun addition to the book. Well worth a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
It starts out with a mental struggle with the main character and even if you are not a warcraft fan in any source the book is a great read. suprisingly good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Arrived incredibly quickly, was well-packaged. Will make a lovely 1st anniversary gift (paper!) for my Blizzard-addicted husband :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Very much enjoyed this book, certainly one of the better books written around the games expansions. Bring on the Tauren now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
a amazing chapter in the warcraft storyline, can't wait to get stuck into the next one. would definitely recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse