Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
64
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2013
would deffo reccomend this book read most of them really good read cant wait to read the rest xxxxxx xxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
I've got all the books from the series though I didn't read them in order. This was actually the first one I read and peaked my interest to read more, as although it's a series, the stories stand alone.
After reading the rest of the series this one is definitely my favourite by far. One thing that Kresley Cole which is very impressive is write the story switching between both points of view. You get to know Bowen as the tortured Lykae who believes he lost his true mate years ago and has entered the Hie in order to effectively ressurect her. Then of course there is Mariketa, a 23-year old human witch who hasn't entered immortality yet and isn't aware of the extent of her powers. A major plus for me about this story is that the fated mate is NOT a valkyrie.

The one thing that really bugs me about the series is the fact there always seems to be a valkyrie involved or they're the mate. With the exception of Kaderin the Cold Hearted they're all pretty annoying. And yes I realize the valkyrie are probably important relating to the series but why the hell do all the other women hang about with them!

Sorry, just had to let that bit of steam off. One teeny tiny thing that kind of didn't sit with me was the way Bowen spoke. Being Scottish myself the dialogue didn't always make much sense to me. I think Cole should have taken the chance and had him speaking all Scottish rather than dipping in and out and "doona" is certainly misplaced a couple of times. However, as much as it threw me a little bit it didn't stop me enjoying this book.

I think this probably the only story in the series with a really heartfelt core - Bowen struggling to decipher his feelings as he feels he's betraying his true mate and Mariketa struggling to cope with discovering her own powers while falling for one of the most dangerous creatures in the lore.

If you only buy one book of the Immortals After Dark Series make sure it's this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2008
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night is Bowen and Mariketa's story and partly takes place at the same time as No Rest for the Wicked during the Talisman's Hie, so I think it would be helpful if you're familiar with that book before starting this one. Bowen if you remember was after the prize so he could go back in time and save his mate. During the Hie he trapped Mariketa and several other supernaturals. Unfortunately this has upset (to put it mildly) their supernatural races and is threatening to start a major interspecies incident. So it falls to Bowen to go and rescue Mariketa. But that's just the beginning.

The glue that holds this whole story together is Bowen and Mariketa's relationship. There's quite a bit of other external stuff going on - The Talisman's Hie, interfering Valkyries, lots more intriguing hints dropped about other characters - mainly the proper introduction of Rydstrom and Cade and who exactly is stalking Regin?

Their relationship basically starts off as a confrontation and though they have a chemistry between them Bowen is far too caught up in the need to win the Hie and save his mate. So he betrays Mariketa and traps her to prevent her continuing with the Hie. Not the best way to start a courtship. It's only after he goes back to rescue her and they have to work together to escape the jungle that the spark between them becomes something more. But the course of their love isn't going to run smoothly, just when it seems everything has come into place for them the past rises up to bite Bowen and he has to decide who and what he really wants.

I like Bowen (more than Mariketa). He's one of those characters who doesn't really have a filter between his brain and his mouth. Maybe this is a Lykae trait as I seem to remember Lachlain from A Hunger Like No Other being similar. When he feels it is deeply and completely. He never gives up.

Mariketa is young and in some ways immature. She lies to Bowen about how often she's using her powers even though it's dangerous for her to do so. Some of her behaviour is understandable. He wants her to contain an essential part of herself - akin to her asking him to give up his animal instinct. But sometimes in romances you feel like shouting at the protagonists - just talk to one another! Yet despite all the confrontations in their relationship there's also something warm and fuzzy about it.

For me Kresley Cole has improved with every book in this series, certain scenes she writes so well. She puts you through the wringer, then just when you think the characters have finally got it together she takes it away from you, and makes the protagonists work even harder for their happy ending. And she never lets her protagonists say I love you before time. Even though there are confusions, eventually her characters talk to one another and when they finally open up it feels real and it works.

This is one of my favourite series. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Great read - probably my favourite in the series so far. Looking forward to the next already!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
What can I say another brilliant Kresley Cole book. Loved it from beginning to end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
IAD is a fantastic series, can't wait for the next one .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
I was really hoping this book would live up to the reviews, and I'm so glad it did! The book was had everything I have come to expect from Kresley Cole and the unexpected twist just added to the brilliance.
Everything I want in a book!

Kresley Cole is truly in a league of her own!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
i read the first book then bought the next 3 and also the prequel and read those 4 in a weekend! this book i enjoyed the most, but i won't spoil it by telling you what happens only to say it is probably best if you read them in order!
So Go Ahead and ENJOY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Love this series, what a 'Wicked Witchlin & a Naughty Lykae'. Good twist to this tale. Just make you want to read on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
As with every book of this series I like the fact that there are all these supernatural characters-creatures and not just vampires/werewolfs. All couples have nice stories and I especially enjoy the fact that they get together near the end, after having gone through all sorts of adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse