Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
Jack Nicklaus: My Story
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 January 2018
Excellent book and speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2012
I grew up in a world where Jack Nicklaus was the golfer to beat; anyone who finished ahead of him was likely to win the tournament - or so it seemed. This is a brilliant recall of his rise through the amateur ranks (when they still meant something powerful) and his long stay near the top of the golfing world. I'd forgotten all the dips in form, the various pretenders for his crown, and the ups and downs of his business life. However, through a well told story, we are reminded of the highly competitive Nicklaus who still managed to epitomise the essence of good sportsmanship - a 'gentleman' as opposed to a gentle man. His family life seemed incredibly important to his success, and the lengths they went to in order to preserve it were a key part of the story. Also, the explanations of how golfers see other competitors is just one of many great insghts. This is a long and well-structured book, but I can't remember being as enthralled by any sporting autobiography - ever. It's probably out of print now, but get a copy before it disappears from the second hand market as well, and get a feel for what made a great player (probably the greatest) tick.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2016
This book provides Nicklaus's views on his championship golf contests and focuses on relevant aspects of Nicklaus's mental approach. Since Nicklaus is the greatest of golf champions (for the time being), and it is his thinking that's credited by his peers and himself for much of his success, his exposition is interesting both in itself and as something for golfers to learn from. So far so good. Unfortunately Nicklaus's book is badly let down by the ghostwriter, Ken Bowden, who is, frankly, a poor writer. There's little variation of tone or pace or, even, vocabulary. Accounts of Nicklaus's many incredibly exciting championship battles (e.g. vs. Hogan and Palmer at the US Open; vs. Miller and Weiskopf at the Masters; vs. Watson in the British Open; vs Ballesteros at the Masters) fail to capture the excitement of those great contests. A comparison of this book with Nicklaus's earlier autobiography with Herbert Warren Wind illustrate what a wonderful writer Wind was and what a positive contribution a really good writer can make.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2016
A good read if a little long in the tooth towards to the end for me. Very detailed and does let you in to jacks head on occasions and during certain shots/tournament play. Some decent tips too.

Worth a read for any golf fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2012
One of my favourite 5 autobiographies of all time.
Based on my standard criteria:
1) has the auto-biographer led an interesting life. Tick. best ever golfer on the planet
2) is there sufficient back or early story. Very much so
3) do you feel you learn something of the star's motivations? Definitely
4) do you think that Jack wrote the bulk of it himself - certainly
5) other - and here the number of tips that Jack describes - ones that he has used at majors, and ones that we can all use in our Sunday 3 ball - are top top notch.
My putting has come down by 5-6 per round alone.

Anyway
highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2002
A perfect gift for anyone keen to improve their own game and/or interested in the history of the world's greatest ever Major accummulator. Thoroughly recommended for gift of self-diagnosis.
Jack has been through so many bouts of form loss and self-doubt that his recollections of changed and new thoughts on the gaem are bound to include one in there for everyone.I broke 80 3 times the week after reading this based on alighnment and putting tips "included" in the book - and i am currently a 19.2 official club handicap.
Its also a fascinating read about golfs greatest achiever and top 5 god (be real Jones and Palmer have both done more 'for the game').
Essential library material for any golf addict.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2007
An interesting read sustained, just, for what is a weighty read.
Jack talks in teriffic detail about all his Major wins -
Rather boring bits i found were about his business ventures and golf course design, not for me...
I wish Jack could be more controversial , but seems to like everybody, and promotes the Mr Nice Guy which he certainly is, but for sure has another side which the reader does not really hear about.
Fascinating facts about the British Open which really kept this book alive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2009
Well written book with much insight into family life,tournament victories and tournaments The Golden Bear thought he should have won but didn't. Honest open appraisal with several tips regarding both the swing and mental approach to the wonderful game. Features regarding several of his contemporary opponents and his attitudes to the way the game and U.S tour was evolving are also strikingly honest and a good read.In summary if you are a golf/Nicklaus fan you'll enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
This is an excellent read for any golfer seeking to understand the forces that drove Jack Nicklaus to greatness. His apparent total recall of every round he played is amazing and the insights provided into his mental approach to the game of golf are very interesting.

The book was in pristine condition and arrived promptly and represented excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2014
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)