Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2017
Very honest and interesting read. Pele gave a detailed description of his career and how he became an icon. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
I absolutely love this book! I am only 14, but i instantly have become addicted. I have always believed that he was the greatest player ever, and this confirms this. It is stunning to find out more about Peles upbringing and how and where he used to play football as a child.

I am in awe of this book!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2007
I was given this book as a gift by a very good friend of mine. As so many of us have only seen rare footage of this living legend, it's a difficult task on how to gauge his ability with today's current superstars. However, from the scenes I have watched, and some of the comments within this book, I can only imagine he would top the list that would include Ronaldinho, Kaka, Messi and Henry. Better than Best or Maradona? I'm not sure, perhaps equal. I enjoy reading football biographies, and this was no exception. So many aspects of his life is covered, even his early cahoots with girls, to his poorly managed businesses that cost him huge amounts of money. He speaks fondly of his family, especially his father, Dondinho, and how he was the inspiration towards his path to football immortality. A magnificent read, and easy to follow.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2006
For those who can remember seeing him play, and many who can't, Pele is to football what The Beatles were to music and Scorsese is to cinema.

To put him into context, he is the boy from Brazil who went on to shine in four World Cups, winning three of them, and scoring more than 1,200 career goals. In short, he is the greatest player of all-time.

Helped along by Alex Bellos (author of the excellent Futebol: The Brazilian Way of Life), the book charts his progress to global recognition as the ultimate footballing icon - a player that epitomised the Samba ethos of the Brazilians with a grace and modesty seldom repeated.

As a tale, it faithfully recreates his journey and fills in the gaps before and after his playing days, but the real emotion is summed up by those fortunate, or in the case of Italian defender Tarcissio Burgnich, unfortunate enough to play alongside or against him.

"I told myself, he's flesh and blood, just like me." says Burgnich, "I was wrong."
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2006
This has been the best book ever written about 'The King'. It gives a clear account of his life and the hardships that he faced and overcame to become the worlds best ever player and also a good man. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves the beautiful game or anyone who enjoys a good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
As Pele is my idol and having read many books on the great man,I was thoroughly impressed by this book as it still managed to give me photographs of the Brazilian superstar I had never seen and gave anecdotes I had not read about him before.Excellent book and good value for money form Amazon
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2006
This long awaited autobiography truly gets to the heart of the man himself - an interesting story whether you're a footy fan or not. It's real page-turning stuff this, you feel like you're on a journey with Pele as he takes you from his humble beginnings through to his current status as global Icon. The stuff on the 1970 world cup finals is particularly good and it's packed with some stunning colour photography and has a useful appendix outlining his career and goal-scoring record - it proves the boy Rooney has a way to go yet!!! If you like football - get it, if you don't like football - get it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Hello.

A very enjoyable read.
Pele was someone always spoken of throughout my childhood in the media.
This autobiography is compelling. From his poor upbringing in Brazil to his
playing bare foot on Copa Cobana beach in Rio and his star studded career
Pele relates well in this book of his extraordinary life.
I thought Pele had led a very trouble free life. But no one is perfect and
his honesty is refreshing.
I was most fascinated by the way Pele told of his love of the game of football.
Of the highlights of winning the World Cup with Brazil. Especially his wonderful
display's in the 1970 tournament in Mexico.
I read many autobiographies and this particular one stands out as one I
have enjoyed recently.

I recommend 'The Autobiography - Pele ' to football fans or anyone fascinated
by extraordinary gifted human beings.

From

Craig Minto.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
It is no wonder that Brazilian football, which has represented the best of the "Beautiful Game" has also produced one of the sports most iconic figures in Pele. He is known as probably the greatest football player that has lived and an ambassador for the sport the World over.

This is his story told in his own words.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Pele: The Autobiography covers Pele's life and career from his humble beginnings as a young boy playing for his cash-strapped local football team, through to him becoming the greatest footballer of his era and arguably of all time. There are some great moments in the book, such as one match when an opposition defender cleared one of Pele's shots off the line only to be booed by his own fans for denying them the chance to witness what would have been Pele's thousandth goal! Most older football fans will probably appreciate this book, but many younger fans who never got to watch Pele in action will also enjoy this account of what an inspirational player Pele was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)