Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2009
Francine has done it again, the heroes behind the heroes in the Bible are her focus this book. I am truly amazed at the powers of imagination and sheer mastery of francine's writing, getting down into the sand with Aaron in Egypt, and God's masterful hand upon the prophet. the study guides and scripture quotations show she has stayed true to the main text. Fantastic!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Whilst a work of "faction" the author has ably put "flesh on the bones" of the characters we see in scripture. Francine Rivers has researched her subjects backgrounds well and brings them to life with her knowledge of life in the Middle East during the times these men of God lived. It is a great way to gain some insight into culture and mindsets of the day and to realise what problems the characters faced in their daily walk and how, through the love and mercy of God, they overcame them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
These stories enabled me to understand the Bible more and the characters within it. Aside from that, the stories were enjoyable and showed what it must have been like for these men to put aside themselves and live in the shadows of mighty men of God, even though they themselves played a grat part.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
Super book. Francine Rivers has a wonderful way of bringing things to life. The events from the Bible just come alive and impact you in a wonderful way. This is every bit as good as Lineage of Grace - about 5 women from the Bible.Well worth reading.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
Brilliant, well written, made you feel you were right there with them. I got carried away with the stories of Caleb and Jonathan. The Bible questions and excercises were excellent.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
If you want to grow, change or mature as an individual then these books are a must have! I was so encouraged and stregthened by reading these books as well as other Farncine River books that I make sure I purchase her books each year as they truly teach you how to apply Biblical characteristics to your daily life.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 June 2011
Francine Rivers is extremely amazing. She has retold bible stories in a way that we can relate to. She has given me a new insight into bible stories. A must read and if you are new to her books, I would recommend getting into them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
If this work by Francine Rivers is on a par with previous material the rating given will stand. Reviews are often called for too soon and give the purchaser little time to wear, read, use or whatever but it also needs appreciating that the work of this author can also be used as a comparative 'study guide' and needs working through, rather than simply reading as a novel. Based on her previous works this will be similarly mind blowing and thought provoking. Written as non fiction and studying the life and times of prominent biblical characters, both female and male, the works call for the reader to look at related original biblical texts prior to becoming immersed, almost as an observer or companion, in the piece. The writer has a gift for embellishing and enriching the original work with extremely thought provoking observations that are not necessarily found in the bible but that compliment serious study of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I was looking for ideas on Biblical novels and this caught my eye on the Amazon listing. It has not disappointed.
The reality of the characters really helps one understand the context of their stories and brings them to life.
I feel I understand much more about the significance of their stories having read this excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I love how she makes a Bible event become alive and you think that you are living in the midst of it yourself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)