Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
A basic and fairly brief book, but practical and informative content. The author seems to have some fairly (to my mind) purist views on a number of issues (for example don't breed from a dog that's been trained on a e-collar!) but very easy to read and provides a good overview with some interesting guidance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Great little book. I'm a complete Beginner to gundog training, but our Labrador Pup is responding well to the techniques. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Simple and easy to read. Perfect for someone who wants to get there working pet off to the best start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
A good book, mainly focused, like other books on the time periods of your dogs growing up. E.G. 6-7 Months. However, i have bought this to use a with a 15 month old dog and it is going to work fine!

Good clear instruction, easy to read and understandable
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
I read this a few times over the past month, while training my 6 month old spaniel, and found it the simplest to understand of all the gun dog books I have read

The only problem people may have is the length which is 64 pages, but personally that's why I was able to keep looking through it to get advice
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2007
This is a great little book that gives you a good understanding of the basics of gundog training. It is perfect for the beginner and the novice and anyone else who has an interest in learning the basics of gundog training. What makes this book even more marvellous are the methods - compared with electric shock collars and ear pulling Mr Begbie uses nothing more than a strong voice and holding the extra skin under the chin whilst using your strong voice.
This is a great comprehensive book that will give you the enthusiasm and understanding to start training
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
Excellent brief step by step guide. What it doesn't do is tell you how to deal with things when they go wrong, or anything to do with dog psychology. Its very useful if you use it with other books.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2008
OK - I am biased. But if I was new to dog training, this is exactly the type of book I would value. No nonsense, No padding. Just good common sense and a lifetime of experience.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2007
This just has to be the simplest dog training course that I have seen. It strips all the mystique away and present the basic lessons in a very easily followed style. The professionals must really hate books like this! What I really liked about it was the way it showed how to produce a top class gun dog or bird dog without using inhumane methods such as the shock collar or ear pinching. Very refreshing and very useful.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)