Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Unbound|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2017
These flashcards are ideal for children and adults who are beginning to take an interest in French. The cards have a phonetic pronunciation to help English speakers pronounce each French word. (Google-translate or Usborne Quick Links have helped for trickier words, where hearing the word spoken is helpful.) The quality is high, with a glossy finish and bold illustrated pictures. Each card is double-sided. The cards have easily withstood being repeatedly blu-tacked to a wall to be memorised. It's rewarding to move each learned card into your own drawer, tub or cupboard and take satisfaction in progressing through the pack, picking out new cards at random to replenish those on display that have been learned. The cards have basic, useful vocabulary including foods, clothes, animals, places (school, supermarket, hospital, street...), household objects (bed, table, lamp, sofa...), body parts, people (e.g. boy, girl, baby, doctor...) and things you use (cash machine, computer, camera...). There is plenty for a successful head start in French vocabulary and to kick start some motivation to learn.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Would buy again. All the basic words included and you can put them around the house to learn different everyday items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Great selection. Actually also great for slow speech in toddlers. Much better than the flashcards aimed at them. My eldest uses them for French and my youngest to get talking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
Very clear, cute cards and the phonetic pronunciation is really useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We are moving to France and the kids needed a quick and enjoyable way to pick up some French nouns. They are ages 12, 10 and 4 and all three like these cards. The only problem with them is that the picture and the word are on the same side of the card (as they are double sided) so in holding up the card to test them you have to try and make sure you have your finger over the word so they cannot read it! We actually have a laugh when using these, simple effect and good fun to learn new words. The card is fairly thick too so they should stand a bit of use.

Very good for the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
I bought these so my son could learn some basic vocab before a trip to France - and before the start of his year in secondary school where he would start learning French. They are excellent! The French pronunciation is spelled out in the bottom right hand corner - to be read in the way it is said and that is quite helpful. There's quite a variety of vocabulary and we have taken to putting a few of the cards up around the house for easy memorisation through constantly seeing them.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
Although the box illustration may put adults off as they think they are purchasing a childs product, I found these a great way to learn. I think that having the cards give you the word in English, French and pronunciation is excellent. Definately a good buy for those who want to pick up basic French.
Worth every Penny/Euro :)
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
Brilliant. Kids love them. Really handy, great pictures and displays how the word should be said. I learnt a lot too. Fab
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
My family and I love these flashcards and it has been of great help in the course of learning French. I sometimes bring it with me to work to amuse my colleagues.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
They are very clear and we are all learning a word a day. Each card shows the English word, the French word and how it is pronounced. My 7 year old loves them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse