Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2016
Have referred to the book extensively on a 90 day motorhome holiday across France. The tours are well balanced and although we bought other touring "guides" this is the one which we used most.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2016
We are planning a road trip through France later in the year, this book has been very helpful. Will definitely be using it on our travels. Loads of suggestions of where to visit and what not to miss.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Fantastic book. We don't travel through France without it. It's taken us along some gorgeous routes and we've seen sites we'd never have found otherwise. Highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Great for a driving holiday avoiding tourist traps
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
Very pleased with this book. Did part of Drive 5 in early September this year. Very informative with lovely pictures. Visited some places we would not normally have seen. Will definitely be trying out some of the other routes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Really useful and will be put to good use - The pull out map is a good idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Just what I wanted to plan our 1st driving holiday to France.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 264-page book - the 2nd print edition of March 2016 - is a colourful and informative guide to the attractions of a driving tour along the back roads of France; for real visitors and armchair travellers alike. It has a number of the usual features, including excellent maps and touristy information. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for, and is a handy up-to-date guidebook. 24 tours are detailed, ranging from 2 to 5 days, though 3-4 is the average.

The selection of drives starts in Alsace in the east and work their way around the country. They are not presented as a connected circular tour, but with a bit of page turning, you could probably manage it, if the fancy took you.

The first 20 pages are introductory stuff - how to get there, practical information on driving in France and where to stay & eat.

The 24 “Drives” take up almost 230 pages; followed by an Index and phrase book; with a supplementary “Driver’s Phrase Book”.

Each Drive contains a detailed map of the journey, with smaller maps of urban areas where required. There are sections on planning your tour, accommodation, possible activities, options for side-trips, and guides to the main attractions en route, with opening times, shopping opportunities, places to eat & drink, and the like.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
A useful travel guide again from DK Eyewitness. I find all there guide books good & get them for where ever we travel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
A must if your travelling around France in a motorhome. Gives lots of ideas and routes to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)