Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 December 2009
I have bought many of the DK "Definitive Visual Guide" books over the past few years. These have ranged in quality from the excellent (Earth,Animal: The Definitive Visual Guide to the World's Wildlife,Human: The Definitive Guide to Our Species), through the solid (History: The Definitive Visual Guide - from the Dawn of Civilization to the Present Day,Ocean: The World's Last Wilderness Revealed) to the occasional below-par effort (Plant (Royal Botanic Gardens Kew)).

I am very happy to say that Science is probably the best book of the the entire series. It is packed with information, both technical and historical, and does an excellent job of explaining the complex in diagrams and text. My science-loving son was enthralled, and eager to read more of it.

Best of all was the reference section near the back of the book, which summarises a great deal of human knowledge in a few pages - and includes the equations on which science is built. I can't find fault with this book, and it certainly deserves much recommendation!
0Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
`Science' is a full-colour, large format book with glorious illustrations, a logical arrangement and authoritative consultants such as John Gribbin, Jeremy Cherfas and Douglas Palmer. All fine communicators of science. The editor-in-chief is Adam Hart-Davis, the greatest UK science and invention communicator of them all.

It uses a historical narrative, subdivided by the disciplines of science and technology. It ends with valuable Reference, Who's Who and Glossary sections. However, `Science' is much more than a reference book with great artwork.

Although it has a useful Index and good `findability' for particular topics and scientists, I don't think that is the best way to use it. Try another method: start at the beginning and read to the end! If you do that you will find `Science' uniquely rewarding because it communicates brilliantly the discovery process of all science through of all its history. It gradually unfolds the pattern of science as an amazing, evolving, historically-grounded global culture.

`Science' will make an excellent present for many young - or young at heart - people. It might just change their life.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
DK over the years has perfected the pictorially driven, graphically sumptuous genre of reference type books, and this glorious book is a supreme example.

Captured between these covers is the simplified sum of man's scientific understanding of nature, life and the universe - stunningly presented with thousand of photos, cut-away diagrams and thoughtful full-colour illustrations, backed-up with comprehensible and useful text.

Typically, the book teems with time-lines, info-boxes and cameo pieces which help fill the gaps usually ignored by standard treatments, and help fix the knowledge in one's mind.

DK is also to be credited with treating science as a human story as well, giving welcome space to the personal details of the thousands of men (and women) across the ages, who with extraordinary ingenuity and perseverance have unlocked Nature's secrets - arguably mankind's greatest achievement.

Inevitably on such a vast subject there will be some carping about lack of depth and detail, and a bias (PC?) in material selection which seems to short-change the German contribution in favour of a wider spread of individuals from other nations.....for which as a payoff, I learnt about Spanish scientists (to name only one group) that I had never even heard of.....

In an instance of un-PC contrast though, Einstein's wife Mileva who apparently did the maths and co-authored several of his early papers, still remains unacknowledged even here, in one imagines is deference to the image of the icon....

But all this is a pretty trifling detraction from what is overall a brilliant, entertaining, enlightening and beautifully presented book.

Worth every penny.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
This book is utterly amazing! It's absolutely packed FULL of all the scientific knowledge your brain could ever need to take in. I've browsed through the book and know that I'm going to love this once I start reading it. I don't know whether these could be a COMPLETE substitute for other books (bit of a contradiction here, I know), but by hell, they come very close though. Anyone wanting to know about science, DEFINITLEY get this. I'm so pleased I did.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
I have a general interest in science and this book is excellent for dipping into. It covers discoveries, inventions and applications in the scientific world in chronological order with a double page spread for each topic. There are also biographies of the great scientists. All in all a very good general reference book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
This is not a just a good book:it is an utterly magnificent book! It looked good on the Amazon web site but when I actually got it I was immediately enthralled. There was ‘nothing’ on TV that night so I curled up in a comfy chair and began to dip in at random. Then I followed themes: steam, electricity, chemistry and the structure of atoms and so on. I continue to be completely absorbed in it. This must be one of the most complete general science books ever compiled. It is by no means a text book but it is a highly inspiring book which can stimulated the reader to dig deeper elsewhere on a particular subject once their interest has been sparked. Anybody with the remotest interest in ‘science’ (10 years of age +) would be delighted with it. DK produce splendid books but with this volume they have exceeded themselves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
Another DK masterpiece of a book.
If you are looking for a comprehensive and beautifully illustrated and detailed one volume science book, you really do not need to look any further. This book is just marvellous - period.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
The print is too small. I don't wear glasses, I read often, and this is the first time I am struggling so much to read the print that it is significantly detracting from enjoyment of the book. The way it is written, the layout, and the contents, all seem fine from what I've read so far. But the print is often about 2 mms high for a capital letter, and sometimes the letters are gold on a brown background. Most of the print is too small.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is not a book to read cover to cover, but is fascinating to open at random. Much is useful to children, and all is illustrated in the most wonderful way. It would make a perfect coffee-table book, provided your coffee table is sufficiently strong, as the book is incredibly heavy, physically. With a wide-ranging set of subjects and an approachable style it is perfect for intellectual butterflys rather than deep research, but as a starting point it is without peer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Last year I bought the book Universe which is from the same publishers and in the same vein as this one. When I saw this book I simply had to get it. I am not disappointed the book is fantastic, it has enough information about each subject to give the reader an understanding without too much to bore the reader.

Not much point describing the inside of the book as you can look inside the book in the description.

I cannot praise this book highly enough and would recommend it to anyone. It is suitable for adults and older children.

Nothing to do with the book but I have to say that Amazon's delivery was brilliant, ordered Friday Pm and the book arrived Monday Am and that was with super saver delivery!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)