Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
Universe
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 November 2017
Fantastic book full of quality photo's and text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2017
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2017
Nothing more to say than "Fab".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
Nice album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
Very interesting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
As this was suggested for my talented goddaughter (12) from a professor at the Institute of Astronomy Cambridge, I bought it. A weighty tome and thankfully something that will last for years as some of it is way beyond her at the moment, and me! All facts, illustrations to go with the text and not the other way round. Very scientific, full of real astronomy for the very interested or considering a career in the subject.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2013
The Definitive Visual Guide is what this book is all about!
The look and feel of the book gives you the feeling you won't be disappointed!
There is something here for everyone interested in Astronomy!

It is a large, heavy, hardback book which is hard to put down. More suited to the study/living room
than reading in bed.

If you are like me, getting back into Astronomy after a long absence, this book is a must have! It is written by the Astonomer Royal, beautifully presented and covers most of the topics in Astronomy today. The pictures and diagrams are not too complex and are easy to follow. It is as the title suggests, more a visual presentation as opposed to a 'facts and figures' one [although some are given], with good maps of the Terristial [Rocky] planets and our Moon as well as their main craters etc. Would have liked a bit more on the gas giants, but not as much is known about these as the other planets I guess.
The past, present and future are all discussed here too.

Good coverage is also made of star formation/life cycle and galaxies [including our own 'The Milky Way'] as well as the 'Big Bang' theory etc. and what will happen when the 'fuel' runs out.

What I really like is the star maps for each month at the back [for both hemispheres] and the 88 Constellations! These too are easy to follow and well drawn.

Overall it has achieved it's aim: 'The Definitive Visual Guide to the Universe' and to get people interested in the subject!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
Stunning from cover to cover. I bought this book as a raffle prize for our Society to give away as a part of Jupiter National Astronomy Week 2014 event. The cover is lovely. A gold printed Saturn on a textured white thick card. Inside the book has lovely images, detailed accurate explanations and seems to cover just about everything a general astronomy book should cover. I think I will buy myself a copy too! I'm very proud to offer this as a free raffle prize - I hope this winner will enjoy it for many years to come!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 August 2016
Despite the high production quality of DK books, they almost always suffer from the fault of being too skimpy. Generally, they come in one of two flavours - either information-lite books of glorious photography, or overviews that don't include quite enough. This is only the second time I've given one a 5* rating, but it fully deserves it.

It's packed with glorious illustration, and with information too. The only problem with it is something that DK cannot be blamed for - it dates. My edition is the original 2005 one. This refers, amongst other things, to the still flying Space Shuttle (now retired), the still theoretical Higgs Boson (now discovered), and Pluto is still a planet (Alas! Not any more!).

The current edition is the third, from 2012 (it was also revised in 2007). Give it another couple of years, and there will be enough new data, new discoveries, new pictures, that another revision will be required. That is inevitable, but no reason not to buy it. Most of it will never date (unless there's some massive revision of the laws of physics!), and the explanations of sometimes complex theory are pitched at just the right level for anyone with a casual interest in the subject. It might be a bit much for a younger child, but for anyone that's at least in secondary school, this is excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2013
This book is all you wanted to know about the univere with superb photographs and illustrations throughout. The overall quality of the item is outstanding. You wouldn't want to read it in bed though - it weighs a ton.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)