Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
109
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2016
My favourite bird of Prey ideal for all Bird watchers and snappers and ideal for young and old who wants to learn more about our birds of prey and their habitats. Stop shooting our Birds of Prey without them the countryside would have a lot more diseases as there our clean up crew so please leave them alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
A very nice book, a good addition to the bookshelf. Compliments the Collins one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
We come to expect quality books when they carry the RSPB name and logo and they do not let us down, my only slight quibble is that this particular book says on the front "UK's Best Selling field Guide." To my way of thinking it is a little large for a pocket guide. Carrying a camera field glasses is enough without a weighty book that you will struggle to get into a pocket.

Whether you are an armchair addict, or a twitcher of the first order, this guide and 70-minute CD are essential reference. The book and video introduce you to 800 species that are regularly and not so regularly found in Britain and Europe. The book contains beautiful photographs, including ones of the different plumages, both male, female and juvenile. There is information on habitat and virtually everything you need to know to obtain a true picture of each individual species.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Delivered today (only three days from order).This is a really outstanding publication, probably the best bird book I have ever bought. You just start turning the first few pages and you're hooked. The sheer depth of information and the quality of the coloured illustrations throughout is faultless. The RSPB have really improved upon the 2011 edition, which was in smaller format, which at the time I thought would be hard to improve upon.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
This book is superb with some of the best Photos and pictures of any birdbook and we have several. The format is one specie per page. It highlights features to look for to aid identification, differences between males, females and juveniles where necessary. There are flight "patterns", distribution maps and status. Also, most usefully it has pictures of similar looking species on the page. Saw it first at an RSPB site and decided to buy it. It is a coffee table bird book so you will also need a pocket book to take with you for example - RSPB Pocket Birds.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2015
I am an extremely amateur and inexperienced birdwatcher but there are lots of waders and sea-birds near my home (in addition to the usual garden birds) so I thought I would get a book to help me identify them. Prompted by the low price and the positive reviews of other Amazonians, I picked this, and I'm very pleased I did because it's really beautiful and a joy to use. The information is very clearly presented in a way that will appeal to anyone from age 5-105. Each bird has a full-colour page of its own, so there is plenty of space to show pictures of juvenile and seasonal plumage, and maps of geographical distribution. At the start of each section, the birds of one type (eg gulls) are shown together so you can judge their relative sizes - I find this very useful. The only drawback to this book is that it is a reference work and therefore too big to take out and about - but it is incredibly useful for confirming what you have spotted when you get home.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2005
This is a fantastic field guide for birdwatchers to have on their bookshelf. The photos are superb, and I personally find them much easier to use for bird identification, than the classic birdwatching field guides that have artists representations. It is a shame that this book is too big and heavy to use outdoors as a field guide (not that I would want to as it might get ruined). However the RSPB have thought of that and have a slimmed down pocket guide available as well.
First class RSPB and DK. Watch out Collins guides, there is a new kid on the block.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This book was bought as a birthday present for a friend who very much enjoys sitting in his garden/conservatory and watching the birds who visit it. He is a bird lover and this has presented a whole new world to him and also to his family and friends. He is in his seventies and found that this book has considerably increased his enjoyment. He can also look up birds he has seen on walks etc.

An excellent book all round.

An excellent book for bird lovers of all ages. This was bought as a present for an old friend who much enjoys watching the birds in his garden and found this helps in his identification of species and also appreciation of the different varieties. The gentleman in question is a pensioner but has found the book also much enjoyed by his family.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Definitely a home reference not a field guide unless you are a strong birdwatcher with big reinforced pockets. Full of excellent and large photos, in fact lots of pictures for each bird. I am not an experienced/fanatical twitcher, but the contents look pretty good to me and the book covers Europe which is essential now I have moved to the south eastern end of that continent. I think it is also a great book for casual perusers (in the casual sense rather than literal sense which means thorough reading). The layout is attractive and hopefully will stir an interest in birds by a wider audience. Presentation is definitely 10 out of 10. Only one small minus point, I notice there are no warnings about the dangers from certain owls for example the Ural owl which lives in my local forest. Unusually this owl flies during the day and can be aggresive near its nest. The book is published in the UK so someone may not have realised the need to spell out the dangers from birds not native to Britain.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Fully deserves the 5 star rating, revised edition of the classic book. Pictures are excellent and unlike the bible of field guides (Collins) it gives more information on species habits and nesting details. A large bulky book, definitely one for the coffee table and not for use out in the field.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)