Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
167
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2017
Daughter originally got this from the library but was so taken with it, she used some of her money to buy her own copy. It's not a step by step instruction manual, more a book of ideas and inspiration. It's split into sections such as wild animals, scary monsters etc and so long as you have a half decent lego collection you can at least make your own versions of most of the ideas shown, even if they don't look exactly the same. It's a bit like a recipe book for lego!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
Rather than buying more Lego sets, we wanted to encourage our kids to come up with innovative ways of using the Lego they already have. This book was the ideal inspiration. It's a thick hardback, filled with loads of fun little activities for kids to create out of Lego. There aren't any instructions - the idea is more to inspire the imagination than instruct on how to build something.

I'd definitely recommend - our two have had great fun trying out the ideas in it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Interesting,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 May 2016
My son has had this book for a couple of years now. When it was first purchased he carried it everywhere. Even snuck it into his class to read instead of doing his classwork! Needless to say it was confiscated...

This book contains lots and lots of ideas to create different Lego models. As other reviewers have said it does not contain instructions to make the models, more pictures and certain pieces.

This book would suit those who would like new ideas to put all their Lego pieces to use. It can be frustrating if you want to make an exact model and don't have the specific piece but for my son it was useful for new ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I bought both this book and the earlier published `Lego Ideas' book at the same time. This is much more limited in terms of a general reader being able to accurately recreate these models, because many of them rely on rare parts which are crucial to the build.

Whilst the earlier Lego Ideas book also contained many unique pieces, as I leafed through that book, each page seemed to elicit far more positive emotions, I could look at the models thinking "I'll just replace that part with this one" etc. In stark contrast to that, each page of this book filled me with more and more despair, as the unique parts are not so much window dressing, but fundamental components you absolutely require.

As an example, there's a double page of insect models and every single one is built around an octagonal part which I had never seen before. This part is perfect for creating creatures as it gives them a very organic look, at total contrast to the right angle joints that most Lego blocks create. Another double page of sea creatures revealed almost all of these depend on the exact same octagon part, it's even mentioned in the book as being very useful. Scouring Amazon, I found the cheapest way to acquire this block is to purchase the Galaxy Squad model # 30230 for around a fiver. It's also on the front of the Galaxy Squad model # 70700.

That part is not available on Lego's pick-a-brick website, but many of the other unique parts from this book are. A few minutes on that site plus a few pounds spent, went a long way to restored some of my faith that the models in this book would make it into our living room. My advice would be to purchase the Lego Ideas book first, and if you struggle to re-create the models in that, don't bother with this book.

Perhaps to a casual reader, (or someone with a more diverse and modern collection of Lego than my own) the books will seem very similar, but I found it interesting that my gut reaction as I read each book was completely different.

Having said all of that, there are still some fantastic ideas in this book, the troll under the bridge in particular is a must build. And one of the authors, Tim Goddard is an artist in every sense of the word, it's worth Googling his name just to see more of his creations in full, because they are absolutely awe inspiring.

Just be warned this book is much more reliant on newer, rarer parts than the Lego Ideas book. So be prepared to spend some money on new parts, or get seriously creative fashioning alternatives.
22 Comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
My daughter and I have had loads of fun making the models in this book. We had to make the troll/billy goats/bridge scenario as soon as we saw it! We loved the other fantasy ideas (a giant, a dragon, castles, etc.) and spooky Halloween models. The other main themes are (extreme!) holiday activities and some large and detailed wild animals, though there are other topics dotted about here and there. Who knew you could make so many tropical fish with whatever colours you've got to hand and a few headlight bricks?

People may complain, as they did with the previous ideas book, that there aren't instructions for the bigger models. Instead, the pictures highlight the most interesting connections or the use of pieces in unconventional ways, leaving you to work out the simple brickwork around them with whatever suitable pieces you have.

Buy this book and you'll make some great Lego models, and, more importantly, learn new ways of putting pieces together that you can use in your own creations.
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Not much can be built with run of the mill pieces. Get some wacky pieces and this would start to give something back. Not the best price either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This book has sparked the imagination of my 9 year old who has a large array of Lego sets and countless bits of Lego pieces lying around. Finally they are being put to use!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
However, be aware that everything in it requires good, old fashioned, traditional lego. All those Star Wars or Ninjago sets won't have the correct pieces.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse