Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
337
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2017
Maeve is always good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Grat great great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
I was expecting great things with this book, but it was a little boring, couldnt really get into it and not a stay up all night book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
A great book, easy to pick up and put down. Maeve Binchy at her best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
lovedit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Enjoyed it and sad she has gone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Good as ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Been reading Maeve's' books for a long-time. I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 April 2014
Chestnut Street is a horseshoe shaped crescent of about thirty nice family homes. It is the location for this charming collection of 36 short stories written by Maeve Binchy. It is her last book collected together by her husband Gordon Snell after her death in 2012. Some of these stories are already published in other collections, like `Star Sullivan' and `The Builders', but a vast majority of them are entirely new material.

I have been a lifelong fan of Maeve's inimitable warmth, her easy to read style of writing about friendships, family, loss, and new or enduring love and of problems associated with the living of a life. These are the issues that Maeve has used as the focus for this collection of stories. They are like little homilies that we might learn from, the advice of a dear and wise friend and are stories with a carefully hidden morale that soon becomes all too clear, just as Maeve intended. They are shortened versions of the style of book that was the cornerstone of Maeve's inspirational ideas for her many lovely books.

I did feel that a few of the stories had been written with the idea of Maeve coming back to them at a later date in some instances. But this was sadly not to be. Usually so very certain to present a carefully rounded story with an enticing beginning, a middle which developed the story in all its splendour and an ending that just melted the heart and was so very satisfying, occasionally I was surprised with a very abrupt ending and left to ponder just why the story had not been completed with the usual dedication in finding a satisfactory ending. But I did enjoy reading this 400-page collection and I read each story carefully and with nostalgia, all the time knowing that this would be Maeve's very last contribution, gifted to us by one of the most talented and well loved authors of the modern school of wonderful Irish fiction.
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here