Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
649
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2013
The Gods of Guilt marks the fifth appearance of straight-talking defence lawyer Mickey Haller. He is the half-brother of LAPD officer Harry Bosch, who appears in previous novel "Black Box". The author rotates the characters well.It is interesting to find out how the characters differ in terms of personality. The approach of handling cases is interesting to explore.The Gods of Guilt involves a new case for the Lincoln Lawyer. The client has been accused of murder. Mickey has to handle difficult cases where the stakes are high. Winning tends to strongly favour the other side when handling criminal cases. Can this be proved wrong? There is a twist added to the plot. The victim in question was a former client of the attorney. The past haunts Mickey. It becomes clear, as it is linked to a previous case. The events leading to the present build up well and reach a thrilling climax. It would be not right for me to comment too much on the plot details, as it would act as a spoiler for readers and affect enjoyment. The latest offering shows how skillful he is as a crime fiction writer. The novel is meticulously researched and richly insightful particularly the court scenes. Being a former crime reporter, adds real credibility and authenticity to the story. Connelly draws us well to the characters. We learn a lot about Mickey Haller surfacing as a district attorney and on an unhappy family life. There is a personal touch to Mickey Haller's character, as he is trying to build a bonding with the daughter. We get to learn about the client and victim in question. The background of the characters paint a sinister and dark picture. The plot is gripping, enthralling and compelling throughout. It kept me glued. There is an element of surprise when least expected to the plot. The Gods of Guilt shows Connelly is never short of ideas when writing crime fiction. Past events of the district attorney makes the novel an interesting read, hence the title. Connelly is top of the game in crime fiction. The writing has reached a new level since introducing the character. He continues to impress a legion of readers. I would recommend the novel if you are looking for quality crime fiction. He is one of my favourite crime writers.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Starting from the first Micky Haller book , the Lincoln Lawyer, there are five books, this is currently the last and it was very good. All the books are very similar, all being ultimately court cases, but Michael Connelly's style is unput-downable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
I am a fan of Michael Connelly's books both the Harry Bosch and the Mickey Haller series. I prefer the Mickey Haller series as I feel he has written some of his best work in the courtroom setting. However, the fifth book in the Mickey Haller series doesn't live up to expectations.

For some reason, I get a rushed feeling about the book, especially as there were a number of spelling mistakes and the odd missing word.

**Potential Spoiler**
In addition, I found Connelly's need to refer to the Lincoln Lawyer movie within the novel irritating as well as the necessity for the two half brothers to have some brief encounter.

The story in general is quite good and kept me interested for the most part. However, the ending left me feeling apathetic. I had been hoping for a twist or something big to finish off the book. But unfortunately it just petered out.
** Potential Spoiler**

Overall, if you are a Michael Connelly fan, you will more than likely like this book, but not be blown away by it.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2014
I was hoping the Haller novels were going to take a different direction for a time following the end of The Fifth Witness and Mickey's decision to run for the District Attorney post (as he puts it "his new destiny"). So it was somewhat jarring to start on The Gods of Guilt and find that this has all been unceremoniously shelved - he lost the race, and even worse is the sketchy description of events between novels to explain it all.

Connelly resets everything. Haller is back in the Lincoln, his ex-wife and daughter hate him more than ever and he is struggling to make ends meet. This is pretty much the template for the previous four books and The Gods of Guilt is largely formulaic from that point on.

I really struggled with the first half of the book as I just didn't care about the people involved. Connelly likes to present Mickey Haller as perhaps misunderstood, a lone crusader in criminal defence who can't catch a break in his relationships and is perceived as bad by most around him but really he's not. It's pretty clichéd and to be honest a lot of the time it doesn't work. It's all wearing a little thin now.

The Bosch novels had this predicament a while back but have, in my opinion at least, picked up in recent years. Connelly needs to do something with Haller, this particular book is largely pointless. The plot is uninvolving and has a couple of reasonable twists (particularly Mickey and his team setting up their straw man defence, which becomes more real than they initially suspected) but it isn't terribly new and the book mostly fizzles out into a predictable ending (apart from one slightly bizarre incident), which isn't something I would normally accuse the author of.

Michael Connelly is still a joy to read, but this is by some margin my least favourite Mickey Haller story, and that's a shame as fundamentally I like the character. It really needs freshening up.

And I can only agree with other reviewers:

The jury are known as the Gods of Guilt
Mickey has a Lincoln town car, as do many other lawyers
A film has been made about him
Money is tight (although strangely the 'firm' keeps going)

We get it Michael, please stop spelling it out every other chapter.

I didn't mind the Harry Bosch cameo though, I thought that was quite good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Mickey Haller books also feature old characters that you thought you'd never hear about again, and once again the similarities between Haller and his half-brother Bosch are well played. Not the best Mickey Haller book, but a darn good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2013
After being disappointed by Connelly's last book, (a Harry Bosch novel) I was a bit apprehensive about this one. Thank goodness, he's right back on form. In fact, the Mickey Haller novels are currently much better than the Bosch ones. Haller is utterly ruthless in his pursuit of 'justice' - i.e. doing the best for his client - as the book's excellent opening scene amply demonstrates. There are some terrific courtroom scenes in The Gods of Guilt, as you would expect, and the plot hangs together very well. I've meanly held back on a fifth star because the plot is perhaps a bit too linear and not quite twisty enough at the end. There are also a few alarming signs that Mickey Haller is taking after his half-brother Bosch and indulging in too much navel-gazing - agonizing about his daughter, his past misdeeds and so on. Snap out of it, man! But overall this is an unputdownable book and a cracking good read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Fantastic book and definitely the best Mickey Haller book I have read. The story flows along and grips you from start to finish.. What a talented writer Michael Connelly is,I have his new book on order and really looking forward to it because it features both Harry and Mickey --- the best of both worlds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
This is the best Mickey Haller to date. If any one needs an introduction to Michael Connelly books this should be the one. He remarkably writes stand alone stories but magically combines characters from previous books so they are believable and loved participants in the present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Another great plot & thriller from Michael Connelly. Micky Haller is up to his neck in stress with another case nobody else wants. Great stuff. I want more Harry Bosch too, may have to get Sky TV just to watch him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Definitely worth four stars but it has to be said it was very slow to start. A couple of times I had difficulty staying with it. Over half way through it picks up and I couldn't put it down. I love Mickey Haller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here