Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
A Fool and His Honey: An Aurora Teagarden Novel (Aurora Teagarden 6)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2017
You'll be in for a great big roller-coaster of a ride with this sixth instalment in the (never boring) life of Aurora Teagarden - the immensely likeable protagonist created by Charlaine Harris. This one's a corker. Aurora is settling nicely into married life with Martin - things can only get better. Right? Wrong! Trouble arrives - in the form of Regina, Martins' niece, holding a baby. From then on in, the ride begins in earnest. Fast paced, closely plotted, cleverly written and keeping it real - Charlaine Harris does not disappoint her readers. The finale is upsetting - but it only serves to keep her characters all the more real - and, thankfully, there is plenty more to come. This novel can be read as a standalone (there are plenty of references and some explanation of past events) but there is a definite timeline to the series of books and much more enjoyment can definitely be had by reading them in succession. Highly, highly recommended for readers who love a cleverly plotted, well drawn mystery with a big, big heart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Love all of the Aurora Teagarden books, I started reading them while waiting for the next Sookie Stackhouse book and I wasn't disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 February 2013
A Fool And His Honey is the sixth novel in the Aurora Teagarden series by American author, Charlaine Harris. The unexpected arrival in Lawrenceton of Martin's niece, Regina, with a very young baby no-one even knew she had, sets in motion a series of events that have tragic consequences. The murder of Regina's husband, Craig, and the disappearance of Regina herself leaves Roe holding the baby. Much as she may have wanted her own child, with her inexperience in this field, Roe finds her resourcefulness running low with the challenge and responsibility of suddenly looking after this tiny life. Travelling back to Martin's home town with the baby and encountering his ex-wife again end up being the least of Roe's worries. Harris weaves an intriguing puzzle that keeps the reader guessing. It is refreshing to find an author who is not afraid to age her characters and have them face real-life problems which don't always resolve neatly and happily. Roe is portrayed realistically and her inner monologue is very enjoyable: I especially liked her summarising her situation in a Country Song Title. As this instalment ends on a low note, I am glad there are two more to come and look forward to Last Scene Alive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This was a good story which kept me guessing 'whodunit' all through. Although it contained murder and assault and enough tension to keep me reading, it still managed to be enjoyable. Charlaine Harris obviously has a good sense of humour and I easily warmed to her Aurora character who was very believable, and yet not real enough to give me nightmares..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 1999
Aurora Teagarden is very happy as she loves her new spouse Martin Bartell very much. She fully enjoys her work at the library and that her home just a mile outside Lawrenceton, Georgia is near her beloved mother's residence, but far enough away for some relief.
However, today turns into an ugly nightmare for the contented Roe. It starts simply enough when the person delivering wood goes crazy due to someone planting an illegal drug within his bottle of acetaminophen. Things turn even nastier when Martin's niece Regina arrives with an infant. No one even knew the lass was pregnant. A few hours later, Regina has vanished leaving behind her baby and her murdered spouse. Martin and Roe decide to track down their errant relative by following her trail to Ohio, not knowing that a killer awaits their findings.
A TASTE OF HONEY, the fifth Teagarden amateur sleuth tale, is an intriguing blending of a Southern cozy within a dark mystery. The exciting story line will leave readers enthusiastically seeking the previous tales. Roe remains a wonderful character whose needs and desires add much depth to her persona. The support cast provides a realistic feel of desperation that makes the plot feel as if it actually has happened. Charlaine Harris makes reading fun.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Great book with some great twists and turns as well as really poignant moments.
I love all Charlaine Harris books but at this stage in this series it feels a bit samey. That said however, I couldn't put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
I haven't had time to read this book yet,
But it arrived very quickly in great condition & can't wait to read as I have read four Aurora Teagarden books so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I have read most of Charlaine Harris's novels and enjoyed most of them.This was excellent with an almost unexpected twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Great author who does complex female characters but doesn't make it a difficult read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse