Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
457
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2012
Dee Nolan and and her husband Liam have three grown up children living in their home, not only being waited on hand and foot but completely rent free as well. When Liam loses his job Dee decides that it is time for a life change, starting with her offspring, who she feels must now fend for themselves.
A pleasant easy read.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 February 2012
When a financial crisis hits the Nolan family, Dee Nolan decides things can only improve if some big family changes are made.
Dee realises that she will have to be harsh with her grown up children - she is sick of waiting on them hand and foot and it is time they stood on their own two feet.
This was a pleasant quick read that shows that mistakes are made in life and whilst it is sometimes difficult to make the necessary changes to move forward, a crisis is sometimes the catalyst.
11 comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
In bed with flu, and a short concentration span, this was the PERFECT read for me.
I think thousands of families, and not just in Ireland, could relate to this story, taken for granted parents, and indignant kids!
I know of a lady who is still working lifting and helping disabled geriatrics, (even though she should have retired years ago, and has severe arthritis) because she still has a mortgsge to pay, yet her recently divorced daughter, has just bought a new house, and a new hot tub! And her teenage boys have all the gadgets, and 400 pound jackets on their back. Where is the sense of helping your parents? I believe the PC term is "giving something back" and this is what the book is about. I normally settle in for a weeks read when a new Maeve book is published, but this fit the bill nicely.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
She's the best, a really great short story from Maeve Binchy, you can't put it down. Worth every penny would have paid more.I have to read all her books. Brilliant story.
11 comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
I read this over a couple of nights and, as always with Maeve Binchy, I loved it. She brought out both sides of the story beautifully. I have subsequently bought it for a friend who is about to go through the same trauma with her son.
Highly recommended for a train or airline journey
Audrey
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Full House is a novella by Maeve Binchy in the Quick Reads series. The story centres on Dee and Liam Nolan, residents of St. Jarlath's Cres in Dublin, an address with which Binchy fans will be familiar. Dee and Liam have two adult daughters and a son, all still living at home, none of whom contribute financially or practically to the running of the household. Rosie was married to Ronan for all of what seemed like 10 minutes before she returned home with a list of complaints about married life; Helen is a teacher with grand if impractical ideas for her students; Anthony is waiting for the songs he writes to make him famous, spends every minute listening to his iPod and has never had a job. It's true that Dee and Liam have made a rod for their own backs, but when Liam loses his job, Dee decides things have to change. Binchy takes everyday situations and brings them alive with her skilful dialogue, character interactions and original plot. Fans will welcome cameo appearances by Lizzie Scarlett, Maud and Marco, Simon Scarlett, Noel, Faith and Frankie Lynch and Fiona Carroll. Short but definitely worthwhile.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
I really enjoyed this short story which reminds me of real families in Ireland today!
After hearing the sad news of Maeve's death, it feels special to find another of her books I havn't read and enjoyed yet. She was always spot on in her observations of life in Ireland. Always a great pleasure to open one of her books and start to read...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2012
Have always liked Maeve Binchy's books but this one was not much of a story. I know it was as short read but I felt it could all have been said in about half the book. This would have made a nice short story in a collection but as a book by itself not much. Don't know if I would bother about any other of the quick reads mentioned at the end of the book by other authors. Not for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
A pleasant and swift insight into what could quite easily be my future . As it is so easy to continue to provide for your children if they stay at home into their twenties. It is fair to say in some instances you are not actually helping them. The difficult dilemma in this day an age where children are staying at home into their twenties I how far do you go with the help. Without them becoming reliant. Anyway enjoyed the book would recommend it to anyone with children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
A short story, nothing in depth.
The characters are neither as well written/developed nor as likeable as some of her others, but it's a pleasant enough light read that doesn't require much thought or concentration.
Good for a journey, or somewhere you just beed a distraction for a couple of hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here