Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
61
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Elvis Cole is back. He is just recovering from the loss of his lady and her son, when he receives a call that changes his life. All of his life, Elvis has been hunting for his father. He never knew his father but was told he worked in a circus. Elvis had enough oomph to run away at least six times not to join the circus but to look for his dad. His granddad would hire a detective to hunt for him and bring him home. Elvis never found his dad but he did find a career. He was very good at hunting down clues and people and thus he made a great detective.
So, the phone call telling him that a dying man was looking for him, his son. Elvis becomes drawn into the search to find who this man was. The man, his father, maybe, was murdered and he was given permission to help the police department find the murderer. Elvis works with Diaz, a female cop and her partner. However, Elvis is faster and smarter than the police department- he uncovers clues very quickly, and the story starts to come together.
This novel is also told from the murderer's point of view, so that we have insight into a mind of a person who is insane and who has no conscience. He tells the stories of his murders, and his life and that of the person he works with. This is a frightening look into the soul of a madman, from his perspective.
The murder mystery all comes together little by little, and we are drawn into the mystery. We are frightened and shocked just as you will be. Elvis Cole, is this your father? What has happened to the life of this man? How does this all fit into your life and that of your mother? Robert Crais has once again given us a story that we can bite into, one that leaves us with a chill, but with admiration for the man who can write like this. His mysteries just get better with each novel. Highly recommended. prisrob
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
I love Robert Crais work along with Harlan Coben and Dennis Lehane. This, the latest in the Elvis Cole series is one of the best. Cole gets thrown into a personal situation that brings up all his hopes and fears. The story is told at a quick pace with believable characters and the return of an old one, who I previously hated with a passion but warmed too! Mr.Crais tells this story well and I was pleased to see that he had cut down on all the poetic scenic description. My only problem, that like Harlan Coben's last Bolitar book, which again was of a personal nature, was that the sidekick seems to be pushed to one side. I would have like to have read more interaction with Joe Pike. But hey, I didn't write it, I just loved it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2005
I'd never read an Robert Crais novel before, so I was completely blown away by this book! What great characters! I loved the mood and pacing! Writing is tight and the dialog smart and smooth. (I kept thinking Bruce Willis would Make a great Elvis Cole).
The story start when a homeless man is found shot dead in an alley, and the dying man claims to be Detective Elvis Cole's Father (cole does not know who his father is). Cole has always been curious about his father and The incident prompts Cole to find out the man's true Identity. As he searches for his past, Cole is not aware that an associate of the deadman wants to kill him.
The book moves along at a good pace with plenty of snappy dialog, and some great violent action scenes. But what really sets this book apart from the typical thriller is the character development. These are three demnesional people you actually find yourself caring about. Now I can't wait to go back and read the earlier Crais' books.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 August 2015
I have so many other book series on the go now, I haven't read an Elvis Cole in quite a while. But I soon settled back in to his world, and this is another compelling page turner, although the main purpose behind the way that Elvis is drawn in to things does look a little bit over-contrived when you eventually get to see it. Not giving anything away here, you'll have to read it, but if you know Elvis, rest assured this is another belter. I won't be leaving it as long until the next one this time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A compulsively readable mystery that unfolds at a breathless pace - this is crime writing of the highest order. While lacking the depth and sophistication of LA REQUIEM, or indeed HOSTAGE, the tale benefits from Cole's separation from the annoying Lucy Chenier (although she does make a brief, irksome appearance) and he son, and the promise a possible romance with Carol Starkey (the heroine of DEMOLITION ANGEL), but the biggest flaw within the novel is the relative absence of Joe Pike. Pike makes only the briefest of appearances, and barely features in the action at all. Cole may not be as annoyingly glib as he once was, but he is no Joe Pike.
The is pure crime writing, and few can match Crais for pace and plotting, but he is never going to match the heights of LA REQUIEM until Pike is returned to centre stage.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
This is a fast paced story with lots of action which grips the reader from the start. More than that it gives us deeper insight into the insecurities and vulnerabilities of Elvis Cole that lie beneath the surface of his witty and quirky personality and it shows the depth of the bond between Elvis and his friend/partner Joe Pike. These are two great characters. The book has a poignant ending and is sad on many levels but has its share of wit and wisdom. I'd recommend this to any fans of the genre and those new to it - give it a go. Robert Crais goes above and beyond the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2006
I'm a huge fan of the Elvis Cole series and this along with LA Requiem is the best of the lot. The first 7 books were well written and exciting with good characters but fairly standard detective stories. LA Requiem (No 8) and The Forgotten Man (No 10) showed us what was behind the characters, what made them tick and this has made the series that much better.

If you're a fan already you will love this book, if you've yet to discover Elvis Cole and Joe Pike, start from the beginning of the series and save the best for last, it'll be worth it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2006
Elvis Cole, the world's greatest detective (tm) has been shot, stabbed, strangled and left for dead many times in his adventures. However, he has never lost as much as he did during his last case when his girlfriend left him. In 'The Forgotten Man' we find a depressed and dejected Cole who is looking for something to take his mind of recent events. It is with some enthusiasm that he looks into the case of a man who has been shot dead in an alley who claims to be his father!

With 'The Forgotten Man' Crais is aiming to introduce some further flesh into Cole's background and as a result this is the least funny of the books so far. We delve into Elvis' poor childhood and why he never knew his father. Parallel to this runs the story of a mad man who thinks that Cole needs to die. Will Cole discover if the dead man is his father or will he die trying?

I found this book a great departure for Crais as its darker edge made the story more exciting. It almost reads like it could be a conclusion to the series? For long term Elvis Cole fans this is a must with the usual well written characters appearing. Next up for Crais is a reported Pike only novel so I for one can not wait!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
This book is easily up to Robert Crais's usual standards, with lots of twists. It is told from several viewpoints in addition to the first person narrator Elvis Cole and this cranks up the tension. Somewhat more sombre in tone (fewer witty retorts from Cole) and more heart-searching than in some of Crais's previous books. An enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2006
For those that have read previous Elvis Cole novels this was long in coming - exactly what made Elvis what he is?. The books have been getting darker, and the characters flaws more obvious - with "The last Detective" we saw what made Joe Pike, and now we get a dose of Elvis Cole's reality.

So we have a break from the wisecracking ironic style of writing that began the series. This is serious introspective stuff, in the main, and none the worse for that. Let's face it, if you get to the 10th book in series you better take it somewhere. And take it somewhere he does, as we get the rundown on Cole's childhood and his heartache at the loss of his love.

The plot is designed to bring all this to our attention, so there are a few neat coincidences, but leaving that aside, we now have a hero with depth, and I can't wait to see where Crais will atke him next.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here