Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
37
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really enjoyed this book, it deviates from the usual kind of crime thriller scenario because the main 'victim' is not a particularly appealing character. Estate agent Bill Moore should be happy, he has more than most with his luxurious lifestyle but still chases the pinnacle of his dreams. Moore thinks that the only way he can achieve the goals he set himself, the last cherry on the cake, he needs to meet 'the right people'. It all begins with a mysterious card on his desk which states 'Modified'. From here on in the nightmare begins; strange things begin to happen, people that Moore knows go missing, false accusations abound and deep secrets and lies are exposed.

It's an exciting thriller that had me trying to read faster in order to uncover what/who is behind all the chaos and terror - it does have quite a bit of violence in the book but personally, I thought this added to the mayhem. It's a rare author that elicits sympathy from the reader for a pretty hard-nosed, unlikable character like Bill Moore but I did feel for him. I won't spoil the ending, suffice to say I usually guess it miles off but I didn't see this one coming.

I have never read Michael Marshall before but based on this book I will read some of his others and I recommend this one to anyone who likes a fast-paced, intelligent thriller who doesn't mind some violence on paper.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
This is my first Michael Marshall book so I have no comparison to his other works.
I found this an engaging read without being rivetting.
The idea was interesting, although a bit derivative of other books out there, but nonetheless it didn't detract from the storyline.
Bill Moore is an interesting character although I do agree with some reviewers in that although I should have felt more for him, given what was going on in his life, there was something about his character that grated.
However what he was put through was both fascinating and horrifying and the author did a great job in building up the suspense.
Some aspects of the plot was a bit contrived and without spoiling things for others Michael Marshall could have added a bit more grist to the mill with one or two characters.
In summary an enjoyable, if not mind blowing, read and an author I will look out for again.

PS As someone pointed out Bill Moore is not the best name if you're in Real Estate!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are crime novels, that you can spot the killer, and see the ending from a million miles away. "Killer Move," definitely does not fall into that category, and Michael Marshall's well crafted thriller, will keep you guessing, till the last page.

Meet Bill Moore, an ambitious estate agent, whose five year plan for himself envisages adding wealth and status to his already perfect marriage and lovely home. He sells condos for a living in an up-market part of the west coast of Florida. Life for him is about to take an unexpected turn and things start to go wrong, badly wrong. Someone is messing up his life and he tries to catch up with events, things get a whole lot worse.

Meet John Hunter a man on a mission. Only this mission is not about peace and love. He has just been released from prison after serving sixteen years for a murder he did not commit. He is intent on revenge, cold or otherwise, and will go to any lengths to achieve it.

So how those two people, cross each others paths and with what results, is revealed as the plot unwinds and it reaches a climax.

In amongst it all there are bloody victims along the way as the story veers from one side to another.

It is a fast paced thriller with a credible twisting story-line, believable characters, and a built in life warning to remind you that when you think your life is going well, there could be a spectacular fall, waiting round the corner for you.

As a newcomer to the books of Michael Marshall, I enjoyed this satisfying thriller and liked the setting of Sarasota and Longboat Key, which I know well. Walking around St Armands Circle will never be the same!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I've liked MMS since Only Forward and read all his writings. Was wondering how he would handle more mainstream novels. Answer: brilliantly. Good blend of mystery, humour and intrigue. Am surprised he's not more known. Will appeal to readers of his more weird writings and people New to him. His characters light up and you'll relate to at least one of them. The tale is well written, the twists unexpected, and it's a good balance of action, almost surrealism and common or garden crime story. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
I've got a lot of time for Michael Marshall (and his alter-ego Michael Marshall Smith!) - he's a very clever and inventive author. I was therefore looking forward to reading this latest volume, and if it doesn't find him in top notch form, at least he isn't too far short.

The book begins with two separate plot strands, which you know the author is going to pull together at some time - in this case later rather than sooner. One concerns John Hunter, fresh out of prison for a murder he hasn't committed, while the other focuses upon the life of Bill Moore, a realtor, who finds strange things going wrong in his life, and the word 'MODIFIED' popping up on cards and written in blood, among other media.

I was intrigued as to how it would all end up and while I largely guessed right, there were still one or two surprises - including an excellent bit of misdirection.

If I can issue a warning of sorts, this book is not for those who like a nice, bright, happy ending - oh, and without giving too much away, you will definitely get more out of it if you've read previous novels published under the 'Michael Marshall' moniker. The latter is not an essential requirement however, and newcomers to this author will still find much to 'enjoy' if they like their fiction coming out of left field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
This was a rollicking rollercoaster of a thriller.
A very well written page turner.

Maybe it doesn't quite live up to its premise and maybe it is a tad contrived but I thought that it was a lot less so than the vast majority of thrillers/crime novels.

It has a great storyline and it was a less predictable one than I had thought it would be.

The main character was pretty original. It was great having one that wasn't the usual quietly heroic everyman or superhuman Special Forces operative.

His observations were quite amusing and the author knew when to dispense with them so that they did not become repetitive.

This was greatly enjoyable and I genuinely couldn't stop reading it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 4 August 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed another book by this author, We Are Here, so thought I would give this one a go. This is a really fast-paced psychological thriller, with the story revolving at first around a Realtor, Bill Moore who has a plan and wants nothing more from life than to succeed in business and make a lot of money, to be able to call the shots in his life his own way. But unfortunately for Bill he's become part of a bigger plan, which involves people who will stop at nothing to get their own way, and to hide what they have become.

Can Bill avoid being `modified'? Who are these people, and why do they want him involved?

Really great writing, really crisp and terse action-packed thriller. This is a really good novel and I was engrossed from the beginning. I got the impression as I neared the end that there was more to the story than just this stand-alone novel - is this book part of the Straw Men series that the author has written? I'm not sure - but I will be looking for more of the author's works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Been a while since I read any of the earlier books from this author so some of the references to them were only vague memories. however this book can easily be read as a stand-alone novel without reference to any earlier books. this is another great thriller with plenty of twists and turns in the plot along the way. the main character doesn't come across as very sympathetic at first but once he becomes more and more of a victim it is easier to sympathise with him and the predicament he is placed in. thoroughly enjoyed this one though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I usually enjoy reading Michael Marshall but I didn't find Killer Move anywhere near as tense and intriguing as his usual brand. I think there's too much going on and at times the plot becomes glib, glossy, totally unbelievable and not particularly original.

Man with too much, estate agent Bill Moore, thinks he deserves more and pushes himself into involvement with a group of folk with nothing much else to do but make other people's lives totally unpleasant. They 'modify' intended victims through a series of random acts such as erasing their identity and setting them up to take the blame for crimes they haven't committed. Their imagination is endless, their financial resources overwhelming but their motive (I'm not telling you what it is - read the book!) is completely ridiculous. The term 'get a life' springs to mind. Once the 'modifiers' were revealed I was totally unconvinced and had to suspend way too much belief.

What Marshall has got right, and he's always good at this, is the nightmare quality and pace. He runs subplots directly at you and you're never sure where you're going to be taken next. He's captured that surreal and fast quality in Killer Move but the novel's written in such a short, sharp, choppy fashion the constant movement washes away the tension.

There's significant violence throughout Killer Move, you'd expect there to be in this genre of novel, but; it's gratuitous and written to keep the reader hooked rather than to serve much relevance to the plot.

As I've previously stated, I enjoy this author and so far have read all of his novels. Killer Move is the weakest yet but I'm giving 3* because Bill Moore is a great creation and his well crafted, well rounded character rescues the novel.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
I have read the other books by the same author and didn't really rate this one. The plot is not constructed with credibility, the baddies are all seeing all knowing and fail only where the implausible hero is concerned.
Poor ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£6.99
£9.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here