Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
87
4.7 out of 5 stars
You Can Run But You Can't Hide: Star of Dog the Bounty Hunter
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 August 2017
Very interesting insight into Dog's life. He's a strange character, and that comes across well in the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2014
wife said it was good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2015
Would recommend to any fan of Dog the Bounty Hunter. If you watch his programmes, you will be familiar with a lot of the information he writes about. Not the best written book ever written, but worth it for the childhood stories, photos included and a fairly interesting read if you are a fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2013
I got this book for my mum but i had to read it myself. I'm a huge fan of the show & the family.
I definitely learnt a few things i didn't know about Duane or his journey.
once you pick this up its hard to put down. Its a great book. i only hope he brings out a third soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2007
I was really looking forward to reading this, and I'd certainly recommend it. It does paint a darker side than the TV show portrays, and it's clear that Dog had (and still does have) his demons to fight.

I was amazed by his honesty. He reveals stuff about his life which must be painful, and doesn't always paint him in the way he might like to be portrayed. The information about Baby Lyssa knocked me for six, and how Dog maintains his faith with all the adversity he has faced is a testament to his strength and an inspiration to others.

My only niggle is that the book is confused in places. Some of that could be due to Dog's drug hazed recollections, but in chapter 33 (aprox 1999) it talks about meeting Tim (Youngblood) - that's only 8 years ago, and Dog has hunted with Tim for over 20 years so it is just plain wrong! - That should have been picked up by someone, and there are several other examples which can make the book confusing in places.

Like the previous reviewer, I'd like to have read more about current bounties and the other team members. Leyland, Tim & Duane Lee got less mention than Tony Robbins which is a shame for such key members of Dog's success (perhaps that's for a future book?!)

All in all it is well worth reading and a rollercoaster ride of emotions.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 January 2011
Having watched the tv show and gleaned little bits of info about Chapman's time in jail, familiarity with drugs etc, I wanted to find out more about his life.This book takes you from childhood to teenage tearaway, hanging out with a gang and getting jailed for a murder he didnt commit, on to a career selling vacuum cleaners and speaking at motivational seminars. Then falling to rock bottom after his mother's death when a girlfriend got him heavily into drugs, till he got together with Beth and fought his way back in the bail business. We read of him pursuing rapist Luster into Mexico, but getting jailed himself; his wedding and tv career. In between all this are his children and relationships, problems with the government and rival bondsmen making it difficult for him to work due to his murder conviction...Interesting read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2012
it made me cry and laugh so much so that my husband has readed it now rally good and well worth a read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2007
Got this in the States early in August, makes interesting reading, definitely paints a less prettier picture than the TV series, you knew from the TV that he had a darker past and this book proves it. Would have been nice if it had said more about his bounty hunting now
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2012
This book open my eyes into a messed up world of the Bounty Hunter. We see that dog had to work really hard, to keep his family and also face facted of have time out from all the chilrens lifes. It must been a very hard time for Dog to had to put his heart and sole into open his world to the public eyes. This man Has lived a thounds death to make sure his family were still there. SO pray to the lord that dog and all of the family continune to keep all glued to tv screens and to join him cry few tears and make a bright future for people who need a seond chance in life to put things right in dog we trust, love and honner. <3 we love to tune into the the show, and enjoy seeing his family get bigger and super stronger. we wishe you all the best and cant get any more of youre shows here In scotland, xxxxx
"tomes stones dont talk back" Dune-lee 2 commets stay with me, and my mum we alos got my sister, neice how enjoy the show aswell, Ieland got few fans here too. xxxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2008
I am a huge fan of Dog the Bounty Hunter and when i saw the book on one of the episodes i was immediately on amazon buying the book. Once i started reading it i was immediately hooked. It shows perfectly how Dog became a gangster, how his life in prision was, and how he changed his life for the better even though he was constantly screwed over. If your a fan of the programme, this is a must read!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)