Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
147
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2017
What an absolutely brilliant book ! Duff doesn't pull any punches when describing his descent into hell and clawing his way back out of it. His mental ( and physical) strength has to be admired. A very thought provoking read, reducing me to tears at times as he recounted the hopelessness of his desperate situation. I mentally cheered him on as he got better and better with the turning of each page in the second half of the book . A very eloquent, intelligent man who's writing style keeps the reader fascinated. I usually pass books onto the charity shop when I have finished them , but not this one...I will dip in and out of this book whenever I am needing inspiration. Duff your journey is truly amazing .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2016
This could actually be used as a self-help book. Duff is very candid about his problems with drink and drugs and how they nearly killed him. Duff not only stayed alive, he recovered and built a new life.

He tells about his workout regime, nutrition, new friends and the things one inevitably has to think about when becoming sober, like: where, how and with who to hang out? how to date sober?

Of course, as one would expect, the book also offers a great insight into the rise and fall of the original Guns N' Roses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
I was never a Guns fan, but I chose this book on the strength of the reviews. A very enjoyable read not just for fans but for those who enjoy rock n' roll autobiographies. Duff's writing is articulate & sensitive, describing his self destructive early years before becoming clean & changing his life for the better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Good book, worth reading if you are a guns fan. Recommended. Surprising how bright Duff and the rest of the band are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Well written, and good to read. A full and frank description of a rock and roll life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Everything is here. Depravity, despair, drugs, drink and finally redemption. Duff wears his heart on his sleeve and does not cover up any aspects of his roller coaster of a life. He can make the reader feel so many different emotions in this one book but shows that there is always hope and life can be amazing if you work at it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
An inspiring book, Duff steers clear of over exaggerating rock'n'roll stories, he doesn't sensationalise them as someone like Nikki Sixx would. A brilliant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Very well written book. You don't have to be a fan to enjoy this look inside the life of Duff Mckagan. When I finished this book I didn't want it to end, I hope he decides to write another in the future as a lot has happened in his life since writing this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Fantastic book Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
A great read, very articulate and intelligence gained through that hard game,rock n' f.... Roll, this man has been there :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)