Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
16
The Gemini Contenders
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 July 2017
great book really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2017
classic Ludlum
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2011
As with the Bourne thrillers The Gemini Contenders is a fast paced novel with a generous mixture of action, suspense and plot twists. The main crux of the story is the quest to unearth sacred religious documents from the contents of an iron box, which if exhumed, could trigger a holy war and have a profound impact on the Second World War. As the book moves into the 1970s the threat of holy war diminishes and instead its acquisition becomes a personal goal of the two main antagonists who wish to reveal its contents for their own deluded purposes.

Although the politics and events of the second world war are a pretext to what prompts the hiding of the box, they play less and less of a role as the story unfolds. The story soon becomes inherently focused on the characters own little worlds and their individual quests. Even so there are references to fascism, nazism, MI6 and the Blitz and very minor connections with the characters lives and senior political figures such as Mussolini and Churchill. If you like books with real events and historical backgrounds that impact on the lives of the characters then this is not the strongest.

Throughout the book the story is told from the perspective of three generations of the Fontini-Cristi's, a powerful Italian family whose role in the world changes as the story progresses. Each member of the family embarks on their own personal quest in relation to the contents of the box. Savarone Fontini-Cristi's quest is to hide the box whilst his son Vittorio's is to understand what his father had hidden and to try and locate it. Finally it is Vittorio's two twin sons Adrian and Andrew, the Gemini's, whose quest it becomes to finally get to the box and reveal its contents, all be it for very different reasons.

The change in direction towards the end of the book kept the story fresh, but it felt a little less realistic. I particularly found the Eye Corps scenario a little unbelievable. However, when the contents of the documents are revealed at the end, I found the revelation quite believable and also unexpected!

A very well written book that was hard to put down. I would certainly give Robert Ludlum's other novels a read.

★★★☆☆
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2009
This for me was Ludlum's best but then it was the first I read and read cover to cover in one sitting. The denuement was a little less than expected but it started me as a Ludlum collector.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2016
This is not one of RL's best. I found it hard to retain an interest in the characters possibly because the twins did not seriously enter the story until quite late in the book. The ending was predictable but the reason for the search was an intriguing one. That said, I cannot imagine that the discovery of the hidden document would have had the ramifications attributed to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2013
An excellent book from an excellent author. This was the first Ludlum book I read years ago and it still had the same appeal for me now. Good story, believable characters and a fast pace throughout. A gripping read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2012
Purchased for my brother who has a liking for fictional history and modern day thrillers. Enjoyed this book and would not hesitate in recommending it to others of a similar persuasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2013
I have a very restricted selection of authors and I find his novels exciting and hard to put down. I read late in the evening, not for the faint hearted at that hour!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
the authors knowledge of historical facts and dates adds to the interest of the story. an almost believable plot if a lirrle gruesome in places
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2013
Great start to the book but the Gemini's characters are't evolved enough in the second half. Sadly feels rushed at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Trevayne
£7.62

Need customer service? Click here