Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

The First Rule
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 April 2010
once again robert crais sends you on a rollercoaster ride with thrills and spills all the way. pike is fabulously cool and menacing all at the same time and elvis cole well you just so would!! there is very little to disappoint in this novel except i wish it could have lasted me a bit longer. if you havent read any of robert crais' novels well where have you been!! if you are a fan this is a long awaited joy. have fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2010
As always, a really well-written, exciting story. Character of Pike is a real favourite and this story does not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2011
Robert Crais at his best. You would always want Joe Pike on your side, he is not a guy to be messing with
Good, straight forward story telling, no messing about, just get the job done.
Excellent characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2016
I have only read 3 or 4 books, but i honestly think they are very poor reads. In fact when i think about it they are pretty terrible.

Steve
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2017
Enjoyed the fast pace of the book filled with twists and turns.
Pike is a firm favourite built in the same elk as Reacher and Puller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2014
The First Rule is told from the viewpoint of Joe Pike. It's the second of a Joe Pike series, the first being The Watchman.

The thing I like about the Joe Pike series is that Robert Crais offers the same world of guns and gangsters and double-crosses and twists but from a new perspective; a slightly different angle. Also, Joe Pike is the complete opposite of Elvis Cole. Whereas Elvis is cocky and thinks he's funny, Joe only talks when necessary. He doesn't crack jokes or look for humour. He only looks for the truth, and he'll kill whoever stands in the way of that truth. This brings a huge difference: Elvis Cole is humour wrapped in bullets; Joe Pike is darkness with bullet holes of light.

The First Rule starts with a simple home-robbery/multiple homicide--one of the victims an old friend of Joe Pike--and soon branches out into Serbian gangsters. It has all the elements of a typical Robert Crais, but unlike some of the Elvis Cole novels--as much as I like the Joe Pike character--it's lacking a little something. It's not boring or slow, but it lacks a spark somewhere. The story is too straightforward; too easy. There aren't many twists, and after the first half of the book, it's merely one long fight/chase/shoot scene after another, as if Crais ran out of plot.

It's not bad as such--I liked it. But Crais has done better, so if you've never read him before, don't start with this book. It's more of a series entry, rather than a series standout.

Also, I have no idea why Crais feels the need to write "mother****er" as "muthuf**kah" when uttered by a black character. It's annoying to read. It's not cute.

So if you're reading this Crais: stop it.

You muthuf**kah.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2014
This is typical of the modern "noble revenge" thriller. It starts quite well and I was initially optimistic, but eventually it turned into just another literary version of painting by numbers. In fact it was less thrilling than most because an awful lot of it is taken up with the hero doing routine detective work rather than being involved in action set pieces.

Most of the characters are one dimensional, and there are no likeable ones. Pike himself is dull, flat and humourless. The author's main claim to literary fame seems to be an irritating affectation of writing things like: Pike said, "Okay", rather than the more usual (for a reason) "Okay", said Pike.

Pike is boring but also just too perfect. He isn't afraid of armed baddies or vicious pitbulls and defeats them all almost with a yawn - you never feel afraid for him, and thus there is simply no tension at any point. Even James Bond gets into tight spots - but not Pike!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2013
First of all, I really like Robert Crais - his witticisms and the humour shown in his Elvis Cole books were what prompted me to read 'The First Rule'.

And I've got to say, I was pretty disappointed.

Crais is known for his 'Cole and Pike' books, where Cole is the lead character, supported by Pike. However, in this book, Joe Pike is the main character, and Elvis Cole appears intermittently.

Joe Pike is more or less indestructible. It's a bit ridiculous, and also means there is little tension or suspense, because you know Pike will come out of any situation easily and unscathed.

The storyline is pretty standard, nothing really out of the ordinary for this type of book. It moves along at a fair pace, which is quite fortunate really.

None of the one-liners or usual humour from Cole makes any kind of appearance whatsoever.

The most disappointing aspect was that no part of this book seemed attributable to Robert Crais - it really is that unlike him. I think his style is quite definable - which is why he is usually such a good storyteller. However, but for the chacters 'Cole' and 'Pike', you would have absolutely no idea that this is a Robert Crais book.

I would definitely read another 'Cole and Pike' book, i.e. Cole as the main character, but definitely wouldn't read another centred around Joe Pike.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2012
This latest book by Robert Crais features Joe Pike rather than Elvis Cole. Elvis does make an appearance but he is not the centre of the story. An old friend of Joe's, a friend from the days when Joe was a professional mercenary, has been murdered. Joe is loyal to these friends from the old days and decided to avenge the death of his friend.

In all the stories where Joe appears he comes across as cool and unemotional. That is one of his strengths but it is also a weakness in this story. Although I can believe that Joe cares deeply about the fate of friends and former colleagues I can't feel it. The book is very dry and didn't engage me on anything but a superficial level. I liked the twists and turns of the plot but I found this easy to pick up and put down, leave for a couple of days, read and chapter one day leave it for a while before continuing. It wasn't gripping or compelling but it was an enjoyable, easy read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2015
Still reading them in order.....but I have to say I'm being a bit generous with the four stars on this one. Why? Well because it's mainly Pike on his own and the two work better together with Coles humour. Also....dare I say It?....it's a bit predictable.....Pike I'm indestructible and out for vengeance....you know what's going to happen from the start....all padded out with the constant LA landscape which Crais does so well. But, I still enjoyed it, a but like a comfortable well worn shoe. I hope the next won't be as predictable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse